Sprint phone on verizon network??

rgreene1971

New Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2010
Messages
20
Reaction score
0
Recently my mother in law had an itch to replace her old sprint phone and upgrade to a android powered phone. She has seen me playing with my Droid X all the time and what it can do so she decided to make a switch to one of sprints android phones. She chose the Samsung Transform (SPH M-920), well it is to much phone for her and she is totally lost, LOL. So she called sprint and had her old phone turned back on and shut off the samsung phone. I now have a sprint phone that I would like to use on the verizon network, my wife has a moto devour and would love to replace it with this one. Does anyone know if it is possible to get the sprint phone activated on the verizon network? I would think you could since it is a cdma phone correct?

Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions!
 

Backnblack

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
11,106
Reaction score
27
Current Phone Model
iPhone 7+ 256gb
Unfortunately, CDMA service providers in the USA, such as Verizon and Sprint, are extremely reluctant to activate phones not branded to them. I didn't say it was impossible, but it's highly unlikely that you will be able to use that Sprint phone on VZW. Don't be fooled by people who say they can unlock a CDMA phone in the USA, because if you did somehow get it activated, it would likely roam all the time and you wouldn't be able to use data services like the text and browser capabilities.
 
Last edited:
OP
rgreene1971

rgreene1971

New Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2010
Messages
20
Reaction score
0
Unfortunately, CDMA service providers in the USA, such as Verizon and Sprint, are extremely reluctant to activate phones not branded to them. I didn't say it was impossible, but it's highly unlikely that you will be able to use that Sprint phone on VZW. Don't be fooled by people who say they can unlock a CDMA phone in the USA, because if you did somehow get it activated, it would likely roam all the time and you wouldn't be able to use data services like the text and browser capabilities.

Damn, I am either going to have a paperweight or a item to sell on craigslist
 
Top