SPRecovery vs ROM Manager

thinkmega

Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2010
Messages
285
Reaction score
0
From time to time I find ROM suggested to be installed by SPRecovery. Can they be installed by ROM Manager too? ROM Manager appears to be very convenient to use but I dont know whether ROMs are tied to specific recovery tool.

Please help.

J.
 

Cornholieo

Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2010
Messages
46
Reaction score
0
SPRecovery

You can install ROM easily using ROM Manager, and I have done so in the past. The most recent ROM I installed though "Sapphire" did not install correctly with RM and I ended up having to re-flash with SPRecovery. Wifi was broken when I installed with RM.

I think that SPRecovery has a cleaner install than RM which is why so many Devs recommend it.

BTW Sapphire is awesome :)
 

Tallica

Premium Member
Premium Member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
3,259
Reaction score
1
Location
Middleboro, MA

nateccnn

Active Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
868
Reaction score
25
No one is answering his question. SPR fanboys have announced their prefernce, but what he wants to know is can an update designed for SPRecovery be installed using Rom Manager? If so, how?

It seems to me I have taken an update setup for RM and renamed it to update.zip and used SPRecovery to install it. Is it just a matter of giving it a new name?

Nate
 

Martin030908

Super Moderator
Joined
Nov 1, 2009
Messages
8,699
Reaction score
0
I know a ROM packaged for ROM Manager can not be simply renamed 'update.zip' and used through Sprecovery. However I don't know if it works in reverse.
 

mwhartman

Super Moderator/RS
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2010
Messages
10,635
Reaction score
12
Location
South FL
The answer "can one install a rom via RM when SPR has been suggested" depends on how one looks at the question. If you use RM with CW flashed then using RM to flash a particular rom depends on the developer making his/her rom available via RM. If, however, the developer has not opted to have his/her rom in RM then SPR is the answer. Additionally, if someone has RM installed BUT flashes the alternate recovery SPR then RM can not be used.

Hope this clarifies how the fan boys feel:icon_ peace:
 

Bob Dammit

Super Moderator
Joined
Dec 11, 2009
Messages
1,708
Reaction score
17
Location
N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
Its a matter of if you want to give koush money to do what you can do yourself for free. SPRecovery was the standard before koush got greedy, and is the only reason I will not run a rom that needs to be installed with ROM manager. I dont care for the tactics and BS (for a lack of a better word) that came to this forum with that developer. Take it for what it is worth, but I dont see how paying for a free ROM is right by any standards. Plus he ran an unnamed developer off this board for "stealing" some work, and had the audacity to charge people for the same rom he was here pi***** and moaning about. Just my $0.02.
 

roberj13

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
878
Reaction score
0
Location
Austin, TX
It depends.

My zips for my themes can be left alone for clockwork or renamed update.zip for sp they work both ways.

Not all do though, backups def cannot be used from one to another.

Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
 

mwhartman

Super Moderator/RS
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2010
Messages
10,635
Reaction score
12
Location
South FL
Damn it Bob tell us how you really feel :icon_ poke:
 

Mikejl

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
402
Reaction score
0
Location
Lake Forest, CA
You can install ROM easily using ROM Manager, and I have done so in the past. The most recent ROM I installed though "Sapphire" did not install correctly with RM and I ended up having to re-flash with SPRecovery. Wifi was broken when I installed with RM.

I think that SPRecovery has a cleaner install than RM which is why so many Devs recommend it.

BTW Sapphire is awesome :)

I'm having a little problem with the technical aspect of your statement. You mean the somewhere during the flashing operation RM messed up a few bits of the ROM that had to do with the wifi, but completed the rest of the installation?

Then SPRecovery took that exact same ROM image and installed it flawlessly?

Is that pretty much what happened?

Or did you downlown the ROM again and then flash with SPRecovery?

Mike
 
Top