Skinning the powercontrol widget

jtydroid

Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2010
Messages
123
Reaction score
0
Location
Milwaukee, WI
Hey All,

I know the various roms have different looking versions of this widget, but has there been any collection of skins?

As a second option, if I wanted the one from Base Cyanogen to run with the theme I currently have, I could just take apart their package and move the appropriate apk to my phone, yeah?
 

icculusX

Premium Member
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
Feb 10, 2010
Messages
2,529
Reaction score
0
Location
The Moon
Personally, I would just edit the Settings.apk file how you want it and then ADB push it to your phone while in recovery mode... all my edited APKs seem to import flawlessly that way.
 
OP
jtydroid

jtydroid

Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2010
Messages
123
Reaction score
0
Location
Milwaukee, WI
I'll need to read up on ADB and its uses, I know there are threads around, I just haven't used it much.

Thanks Man, I'll check that out straight away.
 

icculusX

Premium Member
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
Feb 10, 2010
Messages
2,529
Reaction score
0
Location
The Moon
Seriously just search around and read for a while. Might take a little to get used to it but once you learn it youll fly. I am in the process of pulling EVERY apk form my phone and editing all the icons and graphics. You can even edit paid market apps if you read up on how to 'resign' them. Have a blast!
 
OP
jtydroid

jtydroid

Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2010
Messages
123
Reaction score
0
Location
Milwaukee, WI
Seriously just search around and read for a while. Might take a little to get used to it but once you learn it youll fly. I am in the process of pulling EVERY apk form my phone and editing all the icons and graphics. You can even edit paid market apps if you read up on how to 'resign' them. Have a blast!

Yeah, it looks like a nice little toolkit. Haven't yet found out where to download the software for my pc, but I'm just a google search away on that.

Now I need to find the icons I want to use, since I'm more than a little clueless with Photoshop/Gimp/Paint.net/pencil and paper.
 
OP
jtydroid

jtydroid

Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2010
Messages
123
Reaction score
0
Location
Milwaukee, WI
Sadly, this is not going flawlessly.

I adb pulled all of the /system directory

I renamed Settings.apk Settings.zip

I decompressed Settings.zip

I changed several icons

I zipped Settings to Settings.zip

I changed Settings.zip to Settings.apk

I adb pushed Settings.apk

Rebooted phone, widget doesn't work and trying to add a widget causes FC's in the launcher.

Only thing I can see is that in Windows my Settings.apk has a little lock on the file icon. (This is after I zipped again) Anyone have any ideas?
 
Last edited:

hlt123

Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2010
Messages
55
Reaction score
0
Sadly, this is not going flawlessly.

I adb pulled all of the /system directory

I renamed Settings.apk Settings.zip

I decompressed Settings.zip

I changed several icons

I zipped Settings to Settings.zip

I changed Settings.zip to Settings.apk

I adb pushed Settings.apk

Rebooted phone, widget doesn't work and trying to add a widget causes FC's in the launcher.

Only thing I can see is that in Windows my Settings.apk has a little lock on the file icon. (This is after I zipped again) Anyone have any ideas?
I'm having EXACTLY the same issue. Did you ever find a resolution?
 
Top