Signature verification failed while installing update.zip

ajk23az

Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2010
Messages
171
Reaction score
0
Location
Tempe, AZ
Last edited:

warrior21

Active Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
1,287
Reaction score
0
Location
NY
Try removing the .zip and see if that works

Sent from my Droid
 
OP
ajk23az

ajk23az

Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2010
Messages
171
Reaction score
0
Location
Tempe, AZ
Try removing the .zip and see if that works

Sent from my Droid

When I downloaded it, in the file name it doesn't have the .zip. When I drag it onto the root of my SD card, it still doesn't have the .zip but when I get into recovery mode, it says "apply sdcard:update.zip"
 

warrior21

Active Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
1,287
Reaction score
0
Location
NY
The only other thing I can think of is that maybe the file got corrupted somehow. You can try re-downloading the file and start over. I use clockwork so I'm not sure why else it could be failing

Sent from my Droid
 
OP
ajk23az

ajk23az

Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2010
Messages
171
Reaction score
0
Location
Tempe, AZ
OP
ajk23az

ajk23az

Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2010
Messages
171
Reaction score
0
Location
Tempe, AZ
The only other thing I can think of is that maybe the file got corrupted somehow. You can try re-downloading the file and start over. I use clockwork so I'm not sure why else it could be failing

Sent from my Droid

Also, I flashed (or at least thought I did) SPrecovery onto my phone. When you press and hold x + power button and get into the recovery mode, is it supposed to say SPrecovery on the top or Android System Recovery?
 

warrior21

Active Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
1,287
Reaction score
0
Location
NY
The motocache method works well. I'm just not sure of another reason why the file won't flash. Hopefully someone else can jump in with an idea. When you rename the file, just name it update without the extension

Sent from my Droid
 

warrior21

Active Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
1,287
Reaction score
0
Location
NY
You will see the green android with a list of options and it will say SpRecovery. The stock recovery is a triangle with an exclamation point if I remember correctly. Did you press the allow update.zip before pressing install update.zip?

Sent from my Droid
 
Last edited:
OP
ajk23az

ajk23az

Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2010
Messages
171
Reaction score
0
Location
Tempe, AZ
You will see the green android with a list of options and it will say SpRecovery. The stock recovery is a triangle with an exclamation point if I remember correctly

Sent from my Droid

I am getting the stock recovery then. I have to press the camera button and volume up to get to the menu.

When I flashed SPRecovery on there, it said it "passed". Is there a way to make sure you have SPRecovery on your phone before you try installing the root update?
 

warrior21

Active Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
1,287
Reaction score
0
Location
NY
You will see the green android with a list of options and it will say SpRecovery. The stock recovery is a triangle with an exclamation point if I remember correctly

Sent from my Droid

I am getting the stock recovery then. I have to press the camera button and volume up to get to the menu.

When I flashed SPRecovery on there, it said it "passed". Is there a way to make sure you have SPRecovery on your phone before you try installing the root update?
When you are flashing SPRecovery using RSD lite it will show the phone rebooting. at one point You have to be pressing up on the physical keyboard while this happens so it jumps back into the bootloader screen. If not it will boot up the phone and say pass but will not install correctly. The way I did it was when I pressed start on RSD lite I kept my finger on the up key until it was done. Basically the phone has to stay in the bootloader screen the whole time.
 
Last edited:
OP
ajk23az

ajk23az

Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2010
Messages
171
Reaction score
0
Location
Tempe, AZ
When you are flashing SPRecovery using RSD lite it will show the phone rebooting. at one point You have to be pressing up on the keyboard while this happens so it jumps back into the bootloader screen. If not it will boot up the phone and say pass but will not install correctly. The way I did it was when I pressed start on RSD lite I kept my finger on the up key until it was done. Basically the phone has to stay in the bootloader screen the whole time.

I'll give this a try, I GREATLY appreciate the help. Thanks a ton!
 

warrior21

Active Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
1,287
Reaction score
0
Location
NY
Let me know if it works for you. I might not be explaining it clearly
 
OP
ajk23az

ajk23az

Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2010
Messages
171
Reaction score
0
Location
Tempe, AZ
Let me know if it works for you. I might not be explaining it clearly

Hmm, yeah its not letting me flash SPrecovery onto my phone.

I tried holding x the whole time - it didnt work
I tried holding x once it said "rebooting phone" on RSD lite - that didnt work
I tried just letting the phone boot all the way up w/o holding anything - that didnt work

What other way is there to flash SPrecovery onto the droid?
 

warrior21

Active Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
1,287
Reaction score
0
Location
NY
You don't have to hit the x button until after you put it on your phone. Do you have RSD lite on your computer and the drivers installed? With the phone plugged into the computer and the power off you open the keyboard and press the up button (toward the screen) While holding down the up button press on the power and the bootloader screen should pop up
 
Last edited:
OP
ajk23az

ajk23az

Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2010
Messages
171
Reaction score
0
Location
Tempe, AZ
You don't have to hit the x button until after you put it on your phone. Do you have RSD lit on your computer and the drivers installed?

Whoops, I meant up, not the x button. I do have RSD lite on my computer and the correct 32 bit drivers installed. Let me reinstall RSD lite, and the drivers to see if that will work.
 
Top