Should We Use Any Task Killer with Sapphire 0.8.4?

HavoC

Reaction score
Hey Everyone,

I'm new to flashing scene, and recently flashed Sapphire 0.8.4 to my Moto Droid. I am very happy with the results for the most part, but I have noticed a couple of things:

1. Battery Life seems to be slightly shorter than my previous serup (Stock/OTA 2.1 update 1)
2. Battery temperatures (similar to another thread I just read through) are MUCH higher than before, even when my phone is sitting idle it is sometimes hot when I pick it up, and as I am typing this I am at 40 degrees celsius.

My Setup
I haven't tried installing any kernels so I am running whatever came with the ROM. I am running ADW Launcher (terrific app btw) with only 3 Home Screens, and a total of 10 widgets. Before installing ADW, battery life was a little worse than it is now, but I remember ADW running on my stock/ota 2.1 with much better battery life results.

I use advanced task killer, with the auto kill option enabled, and its aggressiveness is set to medium. I seem to remember reading something about NOT using task killers with custom ROMs, so I figured id ask whether advanced task killer is the cause of my overheating and/or battery issues, or is it something else? If it isn't ATK, any other ideas I could try?

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

mwhartman

Super Moderator/RS
Premium Member
Reaction score
I never use a task killer. Most of the threads I've read indicate that task killers cause more problems than they solve. The Android OS will handle the background very nicely.

Mike

J

Johnly

I wonder who thought a "task killer" was needed? Apple army?

OP
HavoC

HavoC

Reaction score