Setcpu and 2.2

siggy_freud

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
40
Reaction score
0
So I installed 2.2 and downloaded the latest version of SetCPU, but the max MHZ my slider will allow is 600. I have it set to autodetect as well.

Any thoughts?
 
OP
S

siggy_freud

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
40
Reaction score
0
No, used to but outside of downloading 2.2 and installing it through Sprecovery, I haven't done anything. It's been awhile since I did the custom 2.0 ROM stuff, so perhaps I forgot a step in truly hacking this thing lol.
 

hookbill

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
19,372
Reaction score
9
Location
N.E. Ohio
I suspect the stock kernel that you are using maxes out at 600 and that is why you cannot go any higher. If you are wanting more then you will have to load a custom kernel.

I recommend taking a good look at P3's kernels at mdw. I've been using low voltage 125/1100 and it works great for me overclocking to 1ghz.
 
OP
S

siggy_freud

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
40
Reaction score
0
Installing a custom kernell will essentially re-wipe my phone correct?
 

meishkov

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2010
Messages
956
Reaction score
2
Location
Sterling Heights, MI
Installing a custom kernell will essentially re-wipe my phone correct?

Not true. Installing a custom overclocking kernel does not affect any of your saved data or anything on your SD card. It just changes some internal software that tells your phone to run at a certain frequency.
 

jawa6969

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
240
Reaction score
0
Location
Cincinnati, OH
I suspect the stock kernel that you are using maxes out at 600 and that is why you cannot go any higher. If you are wanting more then you will have to load a custom kernel.

I recommend taking a good look at P3's kernels at mdw. I've been using low voltage 125/1100 and it works great for me overclocking to 1ghz.

What is the difference between 125mhz vs. 250mhz?
 

Abe21599

Super Moderator
Rescue Squad
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
6,322
Reaction score
31
Location
Ohio
I suspect the stock kernel that you are using maxes out at 600 and that is why you cannot go any higher. If you are wanting more then you will have to load a custom kernel.

I recommend taking a good look at P3's kernels at mdw. I've been using low voltage 125/1100 and it works great for me overclocking to 1ghz.

What is the difference between 125mhz vs. 250mhz?

some phones have trouble waking from 125
 

Bear in NM

Active Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2009
Messages
1,389
Reaction score
1
Each of the kernel "makers" generally have a range of top end speeds, with 5 to 7 slots below. And, they usually have low voltage, medium voltage and/or stock/high. It is generally accepted to check the OP of the rom you are using to see which maker is the best choice. Once you choose a maker, then you have to decide on voltage. WORDS OF WARNING, you can get stuck at boot if the voltage is not right for your phone, or if the top speed is too fast for your phone. You can also get forces closes and other problems if things do not work well for YOUR phone.

If you do not perform a nandroid (CW or SP) recovery before try a new kernel, you are asking for trouble. There are no definatives here, as each phone will behave differently as each and every CPU will be slightly unique. I guess I should correct myself as one fairly constant feature is the stock droid running at 550 or 600 has some room to go up. Most of the Rom makers will include a 600, or 800 as these have been proven to run fine on most phones. Occasionally you will see a rom come with a 1000, but I think most have backed off this.

And, you will either need the Setcpu app or a rom script to take advantage of higher speeds. Your best bet is to read through the op and all threads of the rom you are running, however painful it may be, to see what the folks running that rom have to say.

Craig
 
Top