Sapphire 0.8.4 is stuck at Android Logo

ty_

Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
98
Reaction score
0
I decided to get the newest update to sapphire due to my curiosity.
I restored my 0.7.0 backup using RM and set out to update.
I choose the P3Droid 900LV Kernel. Black Bar. Market Hack. and Google Add-ons. Also checked Wipe Data and Cache
RM went and did it's thing. once everything was finished it loaded up the Welcome Screen and when I go to click the Android nothing happens...

Any help?
 

nerdbox08

Active Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2010
Messages
1,150
Reaction score
0
Location
Michigan
I think it's because of goggle apps or the nextheme.

I attempted too flash through RM severally times with no luck, with the 900lv, gapps, market hack and nex theme. I booted into recovery, installed the rom and the gapps before rebooting, rebooted: boot went fine, then I booted back into recovery and applied drop theme. Now I am golden.

I also didn't attempt the market fix.
 

BayouFlyFisher

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Joined
Dec 10, 2009
Messages
4,951
Reaction score
17
Location
Baton Rouge, LA
I would try reinstalling the Rom and the gapps only. After that was up and running and my apps were back, I would do the others one at a time.

Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
 

10roller

New Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2010
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
thats what happened to me when i installed over 7.0 without wiping. try another wipe and install if you havent got it working already
 
OP
ty_

ty_

Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
98
Reaction score
0
thanks for the suggestions.
i can skip the welcome screen but then i get no service.
i'm going back to CM6. making a backup. then wiping data/cache and then installing 0.8.4 without market hack and default bar
 

christim

Super Moderator
Rescue Squad
Joined
Jan 23, 2010
Messages
5,038
Reaction score
2
Location
New England
backups are your friend:)

I backed up my previous rom

I installed Sapphire .8.4 let it boot up, set up the gapps update.zip then rebooted and installed that.

Market updates 90% of my apps.

Setup smoked glass no fonts update.zip and rebooted to recovery

backed up again.

Installed theme just fine.

I'll do a backup before any kernal, theme, or rom install. If it messes up its that much easier to get back to where you were.

My market is still sluggish, was ever since I moved from SS to Sapphire but it also was sluggish before for a bit too, either on SS4.1 or on the stock rooted Froyo rom.

So far everything else is looking good. We've got some good devs out there, making roms, kernels, themes, etc. Thanks!
 

dlwhtrose

Super Moderator
Premium Member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Dec 10, 2009
Messages
2,813
Reaction score
31
Location
God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
To the OP, I was having the same problem. I tried to install just the rom and the google apps (no kernel) and it worked beautifully. I then restored my apps and themed. All running great. I am even liking the stock kernel. I will think about a custom kernel later.

So try installing without the custom kernel and see if that fixes the boot up issues for you.
 
OP
ty_

ty_

Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
98
Reaction score
0
To the OP, I was having the same problem. I tried to install just the rom and the google apps (no kernel) and it worked beautifully. I then restored my apps and themed. All running great. I am even liking the stock kernel. I will think about a custom kernel later.

So try installing without the custom kernel and see if that fixes the boot up issues for you.

THANK YOU VERY MUCH.
so here is my process:
had to go back to my CM6 backup.
contemplated doing it again if i knew there was gonna be more trouble.
but i decided to just do all the basics and worry about everything else later.
i downloaded from there the sapphire 0.8.4 Froyo from RM.
[[side question. where can i figure out what kernel i have? i know in the phone status and such it'll tell me my version but how do I decode that into laymen terms? i'm sure it was 900 LV but how can i be positive?]]

after that i did the DEFAULT and ONLY Google Apps.
Once loaded I did ANOTHER backup and Wipe Data and Cache.

In essence. what i did differently from before was:
CM6 -> Sapphire
INSTEAD OF:
CM6->0.7.0->Upgrade->Wipe Data->0.8.4->STUCK ON LOGO

hope i helped someone and i hope someone can help me! dancedroid
 

52brandon

Active Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
1,019
Reaction score
19
To the OP, I was having the same problem. I tried to install just the rom and the google apps (no kernel) and it worked beautifully. I then restored my apps and themed. All running great. I am even liking the stock kernel. I will think about a custom kernel later.

So try installing without the custom kernel and see if that fixes the boot up issues for you.

THANK YOU VERY MUCH.
so here is my process:
had to go back to my CM6 backup.
contemplated doing it again if i knew there was gonna be more trouble.
but i decided to just do all the basics and worry about everything else later.
i downloaded from there the sapphire 0.8.4 Froyo from RM.
[[side question. where can i figure out what kernel i have? i know in the phone status and such it'll tell me my version but how do I decode that into laymen terms? i'm sure it was 900 LV but how can i be positive?]]

after that i did the DEFAULT and ONLY Google Apps.
Once loaded I did ANOTHER backup and Wipe Data and Cache.

In essence. what i did differently from before was:
CM6 -> Sapphire
INSTEAD OF:
CM6->0.7.0->Upgrade->Wipe Data->0.8.4->STUCK ON LOGO

hope i helped someone and i hope someone can help me! dancedroid
kernel, just go into setcpu and turn it all the way up. Wont say if its SV or LV but you'll get the speed
 
OP
ty_

ty_

Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
98
Reaction score
0
To the OP, I was having the same problem. I tried to install just the rom and the google apps (no kernel) and it worked beautifully. I then restored my apps and themed. All running great. I am even liking the stock kernel. I will think about a custom kernel later.

So try installing without the custom kernel and see if that fixes the boot up issues for you.

THANK YOU VERY MUCH.
so here is my process:
had to go back to my CM6 backup.
contemplated doing it again if i knew there was gonna be more trouble.
but i decided to just do all the basics and worry about everything else later.
i downloaded from there the sapphire 0.8.4 Froyo from RM.
[[side question. where can i figure out what kernel i have? i know in the phone status and such it'll tell me my version but how do I decode that into laymen terms? i'm sure it was 900 LV but how can i be positive?]]

after that i did the DEFAULT and ONLY Google Apps.
Once loaded I did ANOTHER backup and Wipe Data and Cache.

In essence. what i did differently from before was:
CM6 -> Sapphire
INSTEAD OF:
CM6->0.7.0->Upgrade->Wipe Data->0.8.4->STUCK ON LOGO

hope i helped someone and i hope someone can help me! dancedroid
kernel, just go into setcpu and turn it all the way up. Wont say if its SV or LV but you'll get the speed
i guess that works. i'd still like to know a way if its LV or SV
 

52brandon

Active Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
1,019
Reaction score
19
THANK YOU VERY MUCH.
so here is my process:
had to go back to my CM6 backup.
contemplated doing it again if i knew there was gonna be more trouble.
but i decided to just do all the basics and worry about everything else later.
i downloaded from there the sapphire 0.8.4 Froyo from RM.
[[side question. where can i figure out what kernel i have? i know in the phone status and such it'll tell me my version but how do I decode that into laymen terms? i'm sure it was 900 LV but how can i be positive?]]

after that i did the DEFAULT and ONLY Google Apps.
Once loaded I did ANOTHER backup and Wipe Data and Cache.

In essence. what i did differently from before was:
CM6 -> Sapphire
INSTEAD OF:
CM6->0.7.0->Upgrade->Wipe Data->0.8.4->STUCK ON LOGO

hope i helped someone and i hope someone can help me! dancedroid
kernel, just go into setcpu and turn it all the way up. Wont say if its SV or LV but you'll get the speed
i guess that works. i'd still like to know a way if its LV or SV
if you just got the stock kernel in the ROM, I'm like 95% sure its 1ghz LV
 
OP
ty_

ty_

Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
98
Reaction score
0
through ROM Manager? noo they gave you the option and i choose either 800 or 900 LV and i ended up choosing 800 but now i've got find out how to get the 900Mhz...
 

Tanknspank

Beta Team
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
3,501
Reaction score
0
Location
North Carolina
The release page on the wiki has a link to the specific kernels for sapphire made by p3droid. Those should cover any need you have.

Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
 
Top