RSD Lite error message

Joined
Apr 24, 2010
Messages
40
Reaction score
0
So I finally decided to root my phone and install a custom rom on it, and I am trying to follow these instructions:
Video: Flashing SPRecovery SBF to Stock 2.1 | Droid Life: A Motorola Droid Blog

I installed RSD Lite, the driver, the .sbf file, and the ultimate droid theme. I connected my phone to the computer and put it in the boot logger screen, and RSD Lite recognizes it. When I clicked on the three ...s and opened the file, under status it says

"Platform is not defined for CDMA_TYPE-OMAP_CHIPSET."

I dont know what this means, or if it is even bad, but I don't want to run the file and screw up my phone (because i love it so much).

Someone please help me!!!!
 

pc747

Regular Member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
25,470
Reaction score
6,889
I am going to move this to the rooted section of RS for better assistance
 

christim

Super Moderator
Rescue Squad
Joined
Jan 23, 2010
Messages
5,038
Reaction score
2
Location
New England
So I finally decided to root my phone and install a custom rom on it, and I am trying to follow these instructions:
Video: Flashing SPRecovery SBF to Stock 2.1 | Droid Life: A Motorola Droid Blog

I installed RSD Lite, the driver, the .sbf file, and the ultimate droid theme. I connected my phone to the computer and put it in the boot logger screen, and RSD Lite recognizes it. When I clicked on the three ...s and opened the file, under status it says

"Platform is not defined for CDMA_TYPE-OMAP_CHIPSET."

I dont know what this means, or if it is even bad, but I don't want to run the file and screw up my phone (because i love it so much).

Someone please help me!!!!

I wrote up some instructions and include that video that Droid-life put together too. It is in the 3rd link of my signature below.

CDMA is the type of chipset Verizon phones use. It is why the Droid won't work in Europe...the cell tower network is different. So, your phone should have that chipset if you are using a Moto Droid.

"under Status" where? In RSD Lite? On the phone itself?

1) do you have a moto droid?
2) if you follow the directions in my link below where do you get stuck?

It also is possible you downloaded a corrupted file but I doubt that is the case. You could try downloading it again, from the droid-life link or the link in my signature, and try to install again.
 
OP
M
Joined
Apr 24, 2010
Messages
40
Reaction score
0
I looked at your instructions, and I guess I had RSD Lite 4.5.3 downloaded off the droid life website, and yours is RSD Lite 4.6. So I downloaded 4.6 and the driver from your instructions, and now when I open the program, it doesn't give me the error message.

I'll actually try rooting the phone tomorrow when I have more time, but I think I fixed it so far. I'll post again tomorrow and tell you if it worked or not.

Thanks so much!
 

titans

Premium Member
Premium Member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
2,645
Reaction score
0
Sorry Merlins but quick question: So you flashed your phone to 2.0.1 stock? What did you have to do? Just sign in and dial *228? thanks
 

teddyearp

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
1,814
Reaction score
13
Location
Pinetop, AZ
Current Phone Model
Motorola Razr 5g Rooted
I believe he is using the SPRecovery_ESE81.sbf file created by DroidMod. That is what I see when I read through the links and other info he provided.
 
OP
M
Joined
Apr 24, 2010
Messages
40
Reaction score
0
Sorry Merlins but quick question: So you flashed your phone to 2.0.1 stock? What did you have to do? Just sign in and dial *228? thanks

No I had a stock 2.1 droid and followed these instructions (Video: Flashing SPRecovery SBF to Stock 2.1 | Droid Life: A Motorola Droid Blog) and (Video: Installing a Custom ROM Using SPRecovery | Droid Life: A Motorola Droid Blog). I'm not sure exactly what it did, but it didn't flash to 2.0.1 and once you install a custom rom, that roots it for you. Then you just sign into your google account and it loads everything (just like you do when you first get the phone).

Anyway, I got it to work!!! I just had to download RSD Lite 4.6 instead of 4.5.3. And now I have jrummys cyan thingy. Its awesome!!

Thanks so much for the help to all the brilliant people on here!! this forum is awesome and ive learned so much from it!

christim - thanks for the directions in your sig, they helped a ton!!:icon_ banana::icon_ banana::icon_ banana:
 

claytronmeans

New Member
Joined
May 2, 2010
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
I was previously having the same problem with two different versions of RSD lite. After installing 4.6 it worked perfectly.
 

christim

Super Moderator
Rescue Squad
Joined
Jan 23, 2010
Messages
5,038
Reaction score
2
Location
New England
Sorry Merlins but quick question: So you flashed your phone to 2.0.1 stock? What did you have to do? Just sign in and dial *228? thanks

No I had a stock 2.1 droid and followed these instructions (Video: Flashing SPRecovery SBF to Stock 2.1 | Droid Life: A Motorola Droid Blog) and (Video: Installing a Custom ROM Using SPRecovery | Droid Life: A Motorola Droid Blog). I'm not sure exactly what it did, but it didn't flash to 2.0.1 and once you install a custom rom, that roots it for you. Then you just sign into your google account and it loads everything (just like you do when you first get the phone).

Anyway, I got it to work!!! I just had to download RSD Lite 4.6 instead of 4.5.3. And now I have jrummys cyan thingy. Its awesome!!

Thanks so much for the help to all the brilliant people on here!! this forum is awesome and ive learned so much from it!

christim - thanks for the directions in your sig, they helped a ton!!:icon_ banana::icon_ banana::icon_ banana:

Glad it worked for you. I've still got to find time to try that rom out too!

DF has tons of stuff here and plenty of good peeps. I'm still picking up good info all the time.
 

dogdays

Member
Joined
May 15, 2010
Messages
30
Reaction score
0
I am having problems with RSD Lite even seeing my phone. Do you have any ideas?
 

JCo352

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2010
Messages
1,825
Reaction score
0
Location
Texas
I am having problems with RSD Lite even seeing my phone. Do you have any ideas?

Go to "Config", then "DeviceID Options", then check "First-come-first-serve DeviceID Options"
 

dogdays

Member
Joined
May 15, 2010
Messages
30
Reaction score
0
I've tried that and it still doesn't see my phone. I have been trying to do this for about 8 hours. I am on a stock 2.1. What is it that I am not getting. It shouldn't be this hard.
 

JCo352

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2010
Messages
1,825
Reaction score
0
Location
Texas
I've tried that and it still doesn't see my phone. I have been trying to do this for about 8 hours. I am on a stock 2.1. What is it that I am not getting. It shouldn't be this hard.

Did you download the right drivers?
Edit: Also did you restart RSD after you changed that setting?
 

jstafford1

Super Moderator
Rescue Squad
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
11,187
Reaction score
1,676
Location
Hebron, Oh.
Twitter
jstaff79
Is your phone on the boot loader screen?

Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
 

dogdays

Member
Joined
May 15, 2010
Messages
30
Reaction score
0
yes I restarted and I verified that I had the right drivers. I am going to uninstall RSD and drivers and try again.
 
Top