Root the A855 without RSD Lite + make it ROM Ready

teddyearp

Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Motorola Razr 5g Rooted
Here's a guide to root the Droid 1 (A855) phone without using RSD Lite. This information/file/method in various forms has been posted all over the internet since < Sept 8, 2010 at least. I first saw a similar one at droidforums here, then I saw another one over at andriodforums here, and then I found that the source of the actual file that does the rooting to be Sebastian Krahmer at c-skills. Said file will, for now, work on any Android device, but I only will cover the A855 Droid 1, as that is what I use and this section of my tiny site is titled anyways. All I have done is gone 'old school' on permissions for su and busybox and added the manual install of SPRecovery.

Before we get started, I realize that for the most part, my guides are not geared towards total newbies, but more for the novice. All the info is here, but you just have to read it carefully and skimming/skipping any step will result in failure. The print button is there for a reason. I am going to guide you through this process by using adb (Android Debug Bridge). I have found using adb is much superior to using a Terminal app on your phone, however you can certainly do this guide that way. It would take some modifications and additional steps, but for now I am leaving those steps out. However, I am going to add the steps (and files) to flash a custom recovery on your phone making you ready as soon as you're done to flash a custon ROM to your phone via Sir PsychoS Recovery (SPRecovery) if you wish. So without further ado, here's three pre-requisites:
  1. A couple of things you need to do to your phone and computer.
  2. My article that gives you the drivers and Android SDK (adb).
  3. The rest of the files.