Reception Issues

cahummer

Reaction score
I just switched to Verizon and chose the Droid Pro because I had a
BB curve and wanted a keyboard. I'm having SERIOUS reception problems. Calls drop or the people on the other end tell me I sound garbled. I go from four bars to no bars without moving. My Verizon friends say they don't have this problem so I'm guessing it's the phone. Like I said, I'm new to Android so please keep it simple but I need some help!! What can I do?

tennvol

Reaction score
Have you updated your prl?

Mine came with a old version

Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App

OP
C

cahummer

Reaction score
reception issues...update

Thanks for the suggestion...how do I find out what I have and how to update?

pilotrose

Reaction score
I have noticed that this phone shows less bars than other phones even when they have the same reception.

I put my samsung galaxy and this phone side by side overseas with the same carriers sim card and the Droid pro showed less bars on top than the galaxy; however, on the phone status page the signal strength ( the best indication of reception) was exactest the same.

I haven't been having problems with calls dropping or bad call quality on coma or gsm.

bwhite757

Reaction score
If the* 228 option 2 doesn't fix the problem, exchange the phone for another one. Cell reception is fantastic on this phone.

Sent from the DPro

OP
C

cahummer

Reaction score
Thanks everyone. I tried the "roaming update" and we shall see if it helps. Another question...sort of related. With most electronic devices, I find a power cycle sometimes clears the RAM and helps with issues. Short of removing the battery, is there a way to power cycle the Droid PRO?

tennvol

Reaction score
You don't really need to. I wouldn't turn mine off except for the fact it reboots on it's own.

MNk1ng

Reaction score
Newest software update resolves reception issues, have you updated?

ckkbleev

Reaction score