Really annoying icon problem

TuBitMittens

Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
713
Reaction score
12
:icon_eek::icon_evil:so after installing pete's untouched froyo rom I've been having this wierd glitch with quite a few of my app icons, and generally it's the same ones like apps 2 sd, adobe showcase and so on. When I boot up my phone these apps are usually always a icon picture of the green android bot as oppose to what the icons SHOULD look like. I am not worried TOO much but this suff make me really picky. When I drag them to the recycling bin and then back they'll change to their proper form, but everytime I reboot my phone it will be the same thing. I currently running bugless beast 0.4 with the black glass theme(or whatever you call it)
Just to avoid confusion THIS PROBLEM HAS OCCURED BEFORE BUGLESS USING THE UNTOUCHED FROYO ROM
help is appreciated. :)
 
Last edited:

hookbill

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
19,374
Reaction score
8
Location
N.E. Ohio
Happy to help. I moved your post to see if maybe the bugless folks can help you out. I don't run a ROM and I don't have issues like this so I'm thinking maybe the ROM has something to do with it.

I could be wrong. But here is where I think you belong.
 
OP
T

TuBitMittens

Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
713
Reaction score
12
Happy to help. I moved your post to see if maybe the bugless folks can help you out. I don't run a ROM and I don't have issues like this so I'm thinking maybe the ROM has something to do with it.

I could be wrong. But here is where I think you belong.
yea, sorry bout that. thanks. but I would like to just say, this has also been occurring BEFORE I installed bugless so I can tell its not because of that.
 

mwhartman

Super Moderator/RS
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2010
Messages
10,635
Reaction score
12
Location
South FL
Not sure what is causing this issue but my sense is it has something to do with apps2SD not being recognized when your phone is booted. I do not use apps2SD so I'm not able to provide guidance on removal, therefore, I would suggest switching to a different rom and see if the rectifies the issue.

Let us know how you resolve.

Mike
 
OP
T

TuBitMittens

Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
713
Reaction score
12
Not sure what is causing this issue but my sense is it has something to do with apps2SD not being recognized when your phone is booted. I do not use apps2SD so I'm not able to provide guidance on removal, therefore, I would suggest switching to a different rom and see if the rectifies the issue.

Let us know how you resolve.

Mike
:( but I wanna be on the latest version of froyo....lol but thanks for the suggestion.
erm...I think I know WHY this might be happening with the apps and the os is not recognizing the right icons for the apps, but I'm afraid I'm gonna lose a ton of respect on these forums...<_<(take a good guess)
 
Last edited:

mwhartman

Super Moderator/RS
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2010
Messages
10,635
Reaction score
12
Location
South FL
You can be on the latest version of Froyo. Currently, there are several rom build on FRB84. I believe BB v0.4, SS 4, UD, SD 6.

Mike
 
OP
T

TuBitMittens

Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
713
Reaction score
12
You can be on the latest version of Froyo. Currently, there are several rom build on FRB84. I believe BB v0.4, SS 4, UD, SD 6.

Mike
I'm pretty sure I'm using that....ALRIGHT I CONFESS.....I am a bit of a pirate(please don't ban me!!!!!!!!!!!!! lol) so I think some of those "unknown sources" aren't being recognized with the app icons. BUT The ak notepad and app to sd switches, along with the adobe showcase I got from the market so idk why those are having problems too..
 
Z

ZeroBarrier

Guest
Really? No ones answered this one?.... [/FACEPALM]

Listen up, it's been asked and answered so much it's not even funny. Those apps coming up with the generic green android box when you boot the phone are apps that are on your SD card (yes, installed there). So when you boot the phone your launcher loads your apps, but the phone is still preparing the SD card; your launcher can't find them until your phone prepares, mounts, and reads the SD card.

Next time, please read the thread for the respective ROM you want to use. The 200+ pages aren't 200+ pages of a boring book or a record of someone's boring conversation. It'll usually be 200+ pages of information, perhaps some or a lot of praises, but most likely full of the same questions you are bound to have and possibly an answer to it too.
 
OP
T

TuBitMittens

Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
713
Reaction score
12
Really? No ones answered this one?.... [/FACEPALM]

Listen up, it's been asked and answered so much it's not even funny. Those apps coming up with the generic green android box when you boot the phone are apps that are on your SD card (yes, installed there). So when you boot the phone your launcher loads your apps, but the phone is still preparing the SD card; your launcher can't find them until your phone prepares, mounts, and reads the SD card.

Next time, please read the thread for the respective ROM you want to use. The 200+ pages aren't 200+ pages of a boring book or a record of someone's boring conversation. It'll usually be 200+ pages of information, perhaps some or a lot of praises, but most likely full of the same questions you are bound to have and possibly an answer to it too.
So what exactly is your suggestion??? And I apologize for recycling a topic that's came up so many times before, and now that you mention it I was having a launcher problem. Even after clearing and setting defaults each time I started my phone it would ask me which launcher to use(home launcher, adw, launch beta pro or whatever..I want to stick with launcher beta pro)
AND THE APPS STAY LIKE THAT...It's not like I load up my phone for the first time the images just take some time to load, in that case I would understand. But these things just stay like that.
 
Z

ZeroBarrier

Guest
Settings > Applications > Manage Applications > Choose which app > Move to phone

Do this for every app you don't want to have that problem with, or any app that has a widget you would like to use.
 
OP
T

TuBitMittens

Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
713
Reaction score
12
Settings > Applications > Manage Applications > Choose which app > Move to phone

Do this for every app you don't want to have that problem with, or any app that has a widget you would like to use.
Alright thank you. Actually I made another thread(I get REALLY frantic anytime I hack device so I go around asking lol..) and it seems like force closing launcherpro(the one I'm using) also helps. It's a bit annoying that I have to do it EACH TIME I START UP but at least my droid doesn't look like an alpha build pile of crap. XD
So, I guess it's basically a common glitch of custom roms when switching apps to the sd card, huh?
I went nuts with a terminal app moving a crapload of my other apps to my sd card for kicks of using the new feature and organizing space so I guess it makes sense.
 
Last edited:

skaman9876

Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2009
Messages
103
Reaction score
0
With launcher pro it's super easy to fix your issue. Every time i reboot my phone I wait till the sd card is mounted and ready. Then hit the menu capacitive button -> preferences (for launcher pro) -> scroll to bottom Click restart launcher pro. Voila all icons are as they should be. Pretty quick process and very painless.
 
Z

ZeroBarrier

Guest
With launcher pro it's super easy to fix your issue. Every time i reboot my phone I wait till the sd card is mounted and ready. Then hit the menu capacitive button -> preferences (for launcher pro) -> scroll to bottom Click restart launcher pro. Voila all icons are as they should be. Pretty quick process and very painless.

Uh, wrong, the latest version of Launcher Pro fixed that and apps will appear in the app tray without having to restart the launcher, great reading there bud.
 

tyroniousdex

Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
101
Reaction score
0
ZeroBarrier do you have any standup material on video? You are the "Larry David" of the forums. You are killing me.
 
Z

ZeroBarrier

Guest
ZeroBarrier do you have any standup material on video? You are the "Larry David" of the forums. You are killing me.

Hot Damn; that makes me feel so much better, that someone at least enjoys my posts.

I can safely say that if the people I try to help don't learn a damn thing, I at least made someone smile.

:icon_ banana:
 
Top