Question about going back...

ehaus

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2010
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
I'm running Froyo FRF57 with the latest baseband and one of P3's overclocked kernels on a Moto Droid and I'm thinking about going back to rooted 2.1. I've been having some issues with battery life especially when using navigation where even though I have the phone plugged in with a car charger, my battery is still getting drained. On some shorter trips it's not a big deal but longer ones just eat my battery. I've tried underclocking the processor to 500Mhz while navigating but it still results in battery drain. Also, sometimes it will kick me back to the car home screen by itself.

Before flashing to Froyo I did a backup with Clockwork but as I said I have a new kernel and baseband so will those go back to what I had previously? I have flashed with RSDlite before so I'm not afraid of doing it again and starting over to get rooted 2.1. If I go that route, is everything reset to stock (baseband, kernel)?

Thanks
 

mwhartman

Super Moderator/RS
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2010
Messages
10,635
Reaction score
12
Location
South FL
The backup you made will return your OS to that particular status which in your case was rooted 2.1. If you want to be overly sure then wipe before you do the restore.

Mike
 

kenbarnum

Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2009
Messages
249
Reaction score
0
I am completely happy (until I hear about the next best thing) with Onix Concepts 1.2 with the Drop Theme. I am not having those problems...

With that said, I do not know the answer to your question and I am very curious. Can someone answer it?

If he were to revert to a clockwork backup would the baseband go back?

Would the kernal go back?
 

warrior21

Active Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
1,287
Reaction score
0
Location
NY
I am completely happy (until I hear about the next best thing) with Onix Concepts 1.2 with the Drop Theme. I am not having those problems...

With that said, I do not know the answer to your question and I am very curious. Can someone answer it?

If he were to revert to a clockwork backup would the baseband go back?

Would the kernal go back?
Once he does a full wipe and then flashes his nandroid backup everything should go back to the way it was including the kernel he was using at the time.
 
Last edited:

mwhartman

Super Moderator/RS
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2010
Messages
10,635
Reaction score
12
Location
South FL
I am completely happy (until I hear about the next best thing) with Onix Concepts 1.2 with the Drop Theme. I am not having those problems...

With that said, I do not know the answer to your question and I am very curious. Can someone answer it?

If he were to revert to a clockwork backup would the baseband go back?

Yes[/COLOR]

Would the kernal go back?


Yes


The entire OS changes when any backup is restored.
 
OP
ehaus

ehaus

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2010
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Great, thanks for all your help. You guys are awesome.

One last question if I may; I was thinking about checking out some of the custom ROMs here and in ROM manager and I was wondering which ROMs look the closest to stock? I know I'm in the minority when it comes to this but I just really like the stock look and feel of Android. I'm mainly interested in some of the speed and battery life tweaks that custom ROMs bring to the table.
 

tcrews

Premium Member
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
1,353
Reaction score
22
Location
Lexington, SC
Website
android.snkbitten.com
Your Baseband will not go back. It's not part of what can be backup/restored with SPRecovery or ClockworkMod. It is an install (update.zip).

With that said...you should be able to "update.zip" any of the older basebands though I've never tried or wanted too.
 
OP
ehaus

ehaus

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2010
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Tcrews,

My concern with the baseband is that I'll have issues with 2.1. I remember some people saying (they could have been talking out of their a**es) that the newest basebands that were released were for 2.2 specifically. I think I know where to find one of the older ones just in case though. I should have the update file laying around somewhere...
 
Top