Problems with LauncherPro

carluverdrm2004

New Member
Joined
May 2, 2010
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
I am told to force close this application SEVERAL times a day.
I tried deleting every widget from my original Home application, and i did the same thing with helixlauncher, then deleted the application itself.
But STILL I have to deal with force closes all the time, and it is just a bother.
Any advice?
 

LtKen

Silver Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
2,624
Reaction score
2
It's still a beta. Help the dev out and e-mail him exactly what's happening so he/she can fix it.
 

brochaos

Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
771
Reaction score
0
thats weird. are you rooted, OC'd, running a ROM, etc? I'm stock 2.1 rooted and OC'd and launcher pro has not FC'd on me a single time. 5 screens, all filled, handful of widgets, no live wallpapers (but they have worked fine when i tried them).
 
OP
C

carluverdrm2004

New Member
Joined
May 2, 2010
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
I'm not sure what exactly is happening, it force closes all the time....

And I am not rooted, would that help?
 

jntdroid

Super Moderator
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
6,436
Reaction score
313
Location
TX
I'm not sure what exactly is happening, it force closes all the time....

And I am not rooted, would that help?

Shouldn't make a difference. I have heard of the occasional problem or FC with Launcher Pro, but nothing to this extent... not that it's not possible, as Ken said, it's still a beta. But it sounds like something is conflicting with it.

How un-helpful was that? :)
 
OP
C

carluverdrm2004

New Member
Joined
May 2, 2010
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
I'm not sure what exactly is happening, it force closes all the time....

And I am not rooted, would that help?

Shouldn't make a difference. I have heard of the occasional problem or FC with Launcher Pro, but nothing to this extent... not that it's not possible, as Ken said, it's still a beta. But it sounds like something is conflicting with it.

How un-helpful was that? :)


Quite ;)
But thanks.
It just did it again, unlocked the screen and then SORRY! Force Close or Report blah blah blah.

I have widgets on every one of my 7 screens, and folders of apps, and apps themselves as shortcuts.
Any other things you need to know that would help make sense of this problem?
 

jntdroid

Super Moderator
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
6,436
Reaction score
313
Location
TX
Do you have any other home/launcher's installed?
 

MuzzleBuster

Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2010
Messages
39
Reaction score
0
Location
NE Ohio
I tried LauncherPro for a few days and it started looping force close.
Went back to Helix and will wait for Launcher to update. It worked very well at first, would like to have it work all the time!

My Droid is not rooted and I think I had 3 widgets - Power Control, BatteryTime, and Beautiful Home.

Only thing I can think that might affect Launcher would be a task killer. IIRC, it did show up as an app.

For now, it can sit until update pops up in market.
 

OSX2000

Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2010
Messages
335
Reaction score
1
The only time LauncherPro ever FCs on me is when I plug the Droid into its dock (OEM). And it doesn't happen every time, but maybe once every 10-15 times I plug it in. As soon as the screen goes horizontal, LauncherPro's Force Close box pops up, with the Clock app behind it. Force Close is always the only button, no Report or Wait.

Running Ultimate Droid 10 (ESE81) with no task killers, and LPro is always the only running launcher. Stock Home and Helix 1 lay dormant.

carluverdrm2004, are you saying you're still getting force closes, even after uninstalling LauncherPro? What app is closing now?
 
Last edited:
OP
C

carluverdrm2004

New Member
Joined
May 2, 2010
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
I had helix launcher installed, but I installed it because I liked launcher pro more.
I do have advanced task killer installed.
should I just re install helix and use it until launcher pro is updated?
 

jntdroid

Super Moderator
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
6,436
Reaction score
313
Location
TX
i would uninstall launcher pro and helix, then just install launcher pro, which had a big update this morning that might fix your issues as well

also make sure advanced task killer isn't screwing with it - if there's a way to add it to an "exclude" list or something along those lines

edit: misread the first time that you did NOT have helix installed already... so I would just uninstall your current launcher pro and reinstall the new updated one, then check the task killer
 

pc747

Regular Member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
25,493
Reaction score
6,918
I have noticed an usual amount of f/cs myself the last couple of days, but it does not lad like hl, and I was getting f/c from hl as well. I plan on sticking with launcherpro. I click report but not comment.Hopefully he get a good bug report so he can fix it.
 

pc747

Regular Member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
25,493
Reaction score
6,918
just updated the app lets see what happens
 

Mule65

Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2010
Messages
430
Reaction score
0
I found more trouble than benefit with launchers. They instantly add another possible reason for something to not work right.
 
Last edited:

bump47

Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2010
Messages
265
Reaction score
0
Location
Hometown: Charlotte, NC
I completely uninstalled ATK because you don't need. My phone runs faster now that I don't have it. Also, is SetCPU still causing problems for rooted users? I use BB V. 1.0 so I don't run SetCPU but I was wondering if that is still causing fcs and lag.
 
Top