PowerControlWidget

microsnook

Active Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2010
Messages
1,291
Reaction score
0
Ok, Did a search, couldnt find the answer.
Im on BB froyo, dont think it really matters. But I want to change the power widget from the green to blue.
Im not sure if its an xml file or a png, anyone want to point me in the right direction? thanks
 

thebowers

Premium Member
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
Nov 24, 2009
Messages
2,545
Reaction score
1
Location
Iowa
Are you referring to the widget that turns gps, wifi, bluetooth, screen brightness and sync on and off?
 

Jim 777

Silver Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2009
Messages
2,306
Reaction score
37
Ok, Did a search, couldnt find the answer.
Im on BB froyo, dont think it really matters. But I want to change the power widget from the green to blue.
Im not sure if its an xml file or a png, anyone want to point me in the right direction? thanks

It's a png file in the settings.apk file

There's 3 or 6 of them that you'll have to change.
 

thebowers

Premium Member
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
Nov 24, 2009
Messages
2,545
Reaction score
1
Location
Iowa
Ok, Did a search, couldnt find the answer.
Im on BB froyo, dont think it really matters. But I want to change the power widget from the green to blue.
Im not sure if its an xml file or a png, anyone want to point me in the right direction? thanks

It's a png file in the settings.apk file

There's 3 or 6 of them that you'll have to change.

If you really want to get technical there is 9 files associated with this. ;)

appwidget_settings_ind_on_c.9.png
appwidget_settings_ind_on_l.9.png
appwidget_settings_ind_on_r.9.png
appwidget_settings_ind_off_c.9.png
appwidget_settings_ind_off_l.9.png
appwidget_settings_ind_off_r.9.png
appwidget_settings_ind_mid_c.9.png
appwidget_settings_ind_mid_l.9.png
appwidget_settings_ind_mid_r.9.png

Make sure to drawpatch them and eclipse when done.
 
OP
microsnook

microsnook

Active Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2010
Messages
1,291
Reaction score
0
Ok, yes I found those images finally (theyre really small!) But i dont have drawpatch and all that good stuff, i have photoshop, but i changed the color, and it didnt work so well....

the ends are like not rounded, theyre cut off at like an angle.

Can anyone help me?
 

thebowers

Premium Member
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
Nov 24, 2009
Messages
2,545
Reaction score
1
Location
Iowa
Drawpatch is in the tools directory of ADB. If you want you can post the edited files to me ;) and I will do it for you.
 

taeratrin

Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
32
Reaction score
0
I was able to do this without drawpatch. Things you need:

Terminal Emulator
File Browser (I used Astro)
Paint.net (or similar tool)

This is assuming that you have already mounted your system as r/w

1) Copy /system/Settings.apk to SD card

2) Use WinRar or WinZip to open Settings.apk off the SD

3) Extract the \res\drawable-hdpi folder to your desktop.

4) Make changes to graphics in the folder on your desktop

5) Copy the new drawable-hdpi back into the Settings.apk on the SD

6) Using Terminal (make sure you do a su first):
cat /sdcard/Settings.apk>/system/app/Settings.apk (case-sensitive)

7) If there is currently a power control widget on your screen, you will need to remove it.

8) Reboot, place widget, enjoy.
 
Last edited:

thebowers

Premium Member
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
Nov 24, 2009
Messages
2,545
Reaction score
1
Location
Iowa
I was able to do this without drawpatch. Things you need:

Terminal Emulator
File Browser (I used Astro)
Paint.net (or similar tool)

This is assuming that you have already mounted your system as r/w

1) Copy /system/Settings.apk to SD card

2) Use WinRar or WinZip to open Settings.apk off the SD

3) Extract the \res\drawable-hdpi folder to your desktop.

4) Make changes to graphics in the folder on your desktop

5) Copy the new drawable-hdpi back into the Settings.apk on the SD

6) Using Terminal (make sure you do a su first):
cat /sdcard/Settings.apk>/system/app/Settings.apk (case-sensitive)

7) If there is currently a power control widget on your screen, you will need to remove it.

8) Reboot, place widget, enjoy.

What images did you edit then? Any .9.png file has to be drawpatched and recompiled. Otherwise they will stretch wrong and look like garbage.
 

taeratrin

Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
32
Reaction score
0
thebowers: the same ones that you listed above (mine were named a bit differently, though). Seemed to work fine.

I will remember the drawpatch/recompile thing in the future, though.
 
OP
microsnook

microsnook

Active Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2010
Messages
1,291
Reaction score
0
Yea, I did pretty much exactly what you did w/o the drawpatching. And my images look like garbage!
I just need to drawpatch them and then I should be set.

If I can get the friggin program to install and work properly :icon_eek:
 

taeratrin

Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
32
Reaction score
0
Where can I find some tutorials on the whole drawpatch/recompile thing? Doesn't need to be all that in-depth; just enough to cover what we are discussing here.
 

taeratrin

Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
32
Reaction score
0
Yeah, I was really looking for something a little less in-depth, but I guess I'll work my way through it.
 

thebowers

Premium Member
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
Nov 24, 2009
Messages
2,545
Reaction score
1
Location
Iowa
It's not that bad once you get SDK and eclipse set up. There is a youtube video out there that easily tells how to use drawpatch and then eclipse. For the life of me I can't find it now.
 
Top