Please tell me I didn't brick my phone.

tgrillot87

New Member
Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
Location
GA
So I've been playing around with Roms all day long. I just installed kangerade from rom manager through the customizer. After installing, I restored my apps using titanium backup. This caused my previous wallpaper to be put back on the screen. But when I tried to change it, I found that I couldn't. So I went back to the kangerade customizer and intalled just the background I wanted. Big mistake. Now my phone won't boot into recovery, and when it boots into android it shows the lock screen with a blank background and it says no service at the top. When I try to unlock it, it freezed and reboots. Please god help me.
 

justin82

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2009
Messages
3,672
Reaction score
208
So I've been playing around with Roms all day long. I just installed kangerade from rom manager through the customizer. After installing, I restored my apps using titanium backup. This caused my previous wallpaper to be put back on the screen. But when I tried to change it, I found that I couldn't. So I went back to the kangerade customizer and intalled just the background I wanted. Big mistake. Now my phone won't boot into recovery, and when it boots into android it shows the lock screen with a blank background and it says no service at the top. When I try to unlock it, it freezed and reboots. Please god help me.


It is not bricked....First how is Battery life.. if you cannot get it to boot into recovery try a battery pull. then boot up while holding X if that does not work RSD will for sure fix it..
 

gardobus

Silver Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2009
Messages
1,965
Reaction score
0
Location
Arizona
If you can't get into recovery and can't get your phone to boot and run correctly then RSD Lite is your only choice. You haven't bricked your phone so don't worry.
 
OP
T

tgrillot87

New Member
Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
Location
GA
Thanks guys. But get this: as soon as I plugged it into USB it booted properly. Not really sure why but I'm posting this from my phone. I really appreciate it and ill remember rsd before I freak out in the future.
 

Tanknspank

Beta Team
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
3,501
Reaction score
0
Location
North Carolina
Thanks guys. But get this: as soon as I plugged it into USB it booted properly. Not really sure why but I'm posting this from my phone. I really appreciate it and ill remember rsd before I freak out in the future.

Make sure to boot into ROM Manager and flash SPRecovery, and if your ok with the fact that this can happen again, then flash clockwork.
 

gardobus

Silver Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2009
Messages
1,965
Reaction score
0
Location
Arizona
This is a common occurrence lately after flashing some roms. I recommend flashing Clockwork after you first flash a rom. It seems like some roms (Froyo based?) screw up clockwork after being flashed.
 

pc747

Regular Member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
25,466
Reaction score
6,892
if you can not get in recovery try flashing sprecovery using terminal emulator first then if no luck rsdlite. but im confident in the terminal emulator trick
 
Top