Pandigital's Nova Android Tablet Comes to Best Buy for Only $170

gruvychic

Reaction score
Is installing a ROM difficult? I'm not totally un-tech savy. I used to work as an analyst for an insurance software company before having kids. I just don't know much about tablets and such.

debdroid1a

Reaction score
I'm a novice when it comes to these devices...as in I only started looking at e-reader devices available a few days ago. The Nook Color looked good, but a bit more than I really wanted to pay. Then I saw this Pandigital Nova in best buy's paper and thought it looked like a good option. I'll primarily use it for reading books. But would also like to have a few apps and be able to play movies. Can you load the digital copies of DVD's on here? Something like that would be AWESOME to keep my little guy occupied at a dr office or grocery shopping. I'd also read somewhere that the Nook can only load B&N apps and such and not regular Droid apps unless you do something to it. I assume that's what rooting is??? So I thought maybe the Nova might be more flexible in that area? If the Nook is significantly better, then I'll just wait until I can buy that. I'd rather wait to get one than regret the purchase and financially be stuck with what I have.

Some guidance would be greatly appreciated.

I tried to google and see, but since it's so new, nobody has anything on that.

It probably can. My Cruz T301 can play movies. I do have to convert them. Usually the digital copies of movies on DVD's are for iThingy's. I convert to an .MP4 and found that .mpeg4 works on mine (as well as others according to the box).

This is one reason why I wanted a color tablet (black and white wouldn't work). Also for other items I need in color.

Maybe a trip to best buy (call first to see if they have one, have them hold it for you too) and see what the specs on the box or display say.

Then again, a rooted color nook might be what you want. So also look into that.

gadgetrants

Reaction score