Okay, I'm an Id10t...

qwiksylvur

Reaction score
I won't go into the specific's of how it happened, but suffice it to say I performed a comedic string of errors on a scale that would make the most stoic individual laugh or cry at my utter stupidy. I have bricked the OS on my droid, I do still have access to recovery (but it is clock work recovery), and my phone is currently rooted, but not rooted (ie, I loaded the wrong update.zip) I can get my way out of this quagmire (I hope)by loading a nandroid backup I made under SPRecovery, but I can't use the SPRecovery backup with the Clockwork backup.
So I need a way to:

1. Get back SPRecovery so I can load my backup, and pray I can get either clockwork or droidmod to re-root my phone.

or

2. Find a new update.zip file with the proper root in it to properly reapply root, then get SPRecovery back and retreive the backup.

This has been a very humbling experience for me, because I am an IT pro WHO SHOULD HAVE KNOWN BETTER!! This leads me to come to your doorsteps, hat in hand, begging for your collective help. Please don't think less of me because this... :unsure:

OP
Q

qwiksylvur

Reaction score
Okay, I have got the root version of update.zip - now all I need is someone's kind assistance :)

OP
Q

qwiksylvur

Reaction score
Gaaahhh!!!

It looks like my cable is defective - I hope there is somewhere local to get one that is open on Good Friday...

romanrish

Reaction score
Yeah we use a standard jack so even wally world should have it

OP
Q

qwiksylvur

Reaction score
Standard? What standard size is it, because its not micro usb. (just found out)

alm0614

Reaction score
you can also get a card reader, but the sd card in the card reader, and then just move the update.zip right onto the sd card

OP
Q

qwiksylvur

Reaction score
OK, looks like the factory packed a mini usb into a box that said micro...LOL I just tried the "micro" cable on another mini usb device and it fit. Back to Best Buy I go.