New to my Droid X Want to Root

Bigpoppa0414

Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

Well I am new to my Droid X and I really want to root it, after everyone that owns a Droid I knows tell me that I need to. Can someone lead me on a path of where to go to do this. Thanks Alot!

ben.keen

Reaction score
You can do it one of two ways. Either using the ADB shell and command line or search for z4root. You can search on here for the steps for either but z4root will be the easiest if you are unsure about the command and stuff needed for the ADB shell.

Basically, with z4root you download and install an APK file onto your phone and then when you launch the app it will ask if you want to root or not. Click yes, phone reboots, superuser installed, root achieved.

mikex

Reaction score
You can do it one of two ways. Either using the ADB shell and command line or search for z4root. You can search on here for the steps for either but z4root will be the easiest if you are unsure about the command and stuff needed for the ADB shell.

Basically, with z4root you download and install an APK file onto your phone and then when you launch the app it will ask if you want to root or not. Click yes, phone reboots, superuser installed, root achieved.

+1 for z4root for an easy way to get rooted. If you want the rooted gingerbread though head over to droid life. Kellex has some great instructions.

04CiviCon20s

Reaction score
BIG p, I'll whip up an apk for you thru mega upload so you'll have z4 root. all you have to do is d/l the link and place on your sd card. Once on SD card, you'll use a file manager app like asto file manager(free on market) once installed on your DX, its literally a one step process. Standby for z4 apk:)

Here you go (http://www.megaupload.com/?d=EW90WUQN)..any ?s, holla

SGT DX

Reaction score
Reaction score