neep help recovering my moto droid

viking123

New Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
I rooted my droid yesterday and ran cyanogen mod. Everything was fine untill i tried going to newer cyanogen rom. I now have lost my recovy image in my DM Updater. I would like to go back to stock and start over. When I try to go back to stock (non rooted) I get a screen with the triangle and green droid below it and options to:

-reboot system
-apply sdcard: update zip
-wipe data/factory reset
-install zip from sd card
-nandroid
-partitions menu
-advanced

I have no idea what to do. please help
 

kaboyd

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2009
Messages
565
Reaction score
0
Location
Southern Indiana
Can you run the DMupdater and select the "back to stock" option? That would get you to the out of the box state your looking for.
 
G

gavron

Guest
Install adamz's smokedglass 6.0.1 from the nandroid image.

1. get to the sprecovery menu you just posted
2. use the adb command to push the nandroid image to /sdcard/nandroid/
3. select nandroid
4. select advanced nandroid install
5. select rom
6. if you were running a 2.1 based ROM uncheck "Data"
7. select the option that says to restore
8. power-button all the way to top menu and select reboot

E
 

kaboyd

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2009
Messages
565
Reaction score
0
Location
Southern Indiana
From what I read in the OP he doesn't have SPrecovery. He has the stock recovery system. I don't know if that makes a difference or not. I never messed with the stock one.
 

pudah

Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2009
Messages
337
Reaction score
0
Location
West Allis, WI
I rooted my droid yesterday and ran cyanogen mod. Everything was fine untill i tried going to newer cyanogen rom. I now have lost my recovy image in my DM Updater. I would like to go back to stock and start over. When I try to go back to stock (non rooted) I get a screen with the triangle and green droid below it and options to:

-reboot system
-apply sdcard: update zip
-wipe data/factory reset
-install zip from sd card
-nandroid
-partitions menu
-advanced

I have no idea what to do. please help

Did you make a nandroid backup? If so go in there and try to recover.
 
OP
V

viking123

New Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
I ran DMupdate and selected stock and this is where i am. I seemed to have lost my clockworkMod recovery
 
OP
V

viking123

New Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
what if I select wipe data/factory reset. I have all my data and apps backed up through a online backup app
 

Tanknspank

Beta Team
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
3,500
Reaction score
0
Location
North Carolina
Going back to stock through that method gets rid of clockwork and sprecovery. That's what stock is. Since you hit back to stock, I'm pretty sure you've lost all apps anyway.
 

Tanknspank

Beta Team
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
3,500
Reaction score
0
Location
North Carolina
ok, but when you opened DMUpdater, did it ask you to update your recovery image, or something along that line? If it did, did you flash it or did you quit?
 

Jonny Kansas

Administrator
Staff member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
16,741
Reaction score
7,393
Location
Michigan's Upper Peninsula
Website
www.google.com
Current Phone Model
Pixel XL
Twitter
jonny_ks
No, the stock install failed.

Cyanogen is 2.1 based. Stock is 2.0.1. So is droidmod, which dmupdater was crated for.

When switching between 2.1 & 2.0.1, you must factory rest and wipe data. It won't hurt either way if you wipe cache partition or not but I recommend it.
 

Jonny Kansas

Administrator
Staff member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
16,741
Reaction score
7,393
Location
Michigan's Upper Peninsula
Website
www.google.com
Current Phone Model
Pixel XL
Twitter
jonny_ks
ok, but when you opened DMUpdater, did it ask you to update your recovery image, or something along that line? If it did, did you flash it or did you quit?

If he/she is seeing the triangle (stock recovery) that's where they should be if they want to be at stock. To complete the process, a factory rest/data wipe is in order because of the issue i mentioned above.
 

Tanknspank

Beta Team
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
3,500
Reaction score
0
Location
North Carolina
ok, but when you opened DMUpdater, did it ask you to update your recovery image, or something along that line? If it did, did you flash it or did you quit?

If he/she is seeing the triangle (stock recovery) that's where they should be if they want to be at stock. To complete the process, a factory rest/data wipe is in order because of the issue i mentioned above.

I couldn't understand if that was what clockwork looked like, and I didn't remember stock recovery having all those options. You sure he is stock? I might just be totally off too. :p
 

Jonny Kansas

Administrator
Staff member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
16,741
Reaction score
7,393
Location
Michigan's Upper Peninsula
Website
www.google.com
Current Phone Model
Pixel XL
Twitter
jonny_ks
My mistake. The options described in the op are NOT stock recovery.

You may need to run dm updater again to flash recovery, then chose stock again, then wipe data..if you can boot up.

If you can't, you will need to do a nandroid restore of a working rom.

After that, run dm and perform the other steps in this post.
 
Top