multitrack recorder?

B_CRINE!

Reaction score
any word on a multitrack recorder app? Im a musician and I would love to see one!

OP
B

B_CRINE!

Reaction score
apparently there is a hardware issue?

I just received this email from Sonoma Wire works:

Hello Brian,

Currently the hardware on android phones is not capable of performing
multitrack recording. If this changes, we will port our software over.
Thank you for writing,

Daniel C.
- Show quoted text -
--
Sonoma Wire Works Support
[email protected]
Visit the Sonoma Wire Works Forums at:
Support Forums

I'm wondering if this statement is entirely accurate, given that voice recording and other such tasks are definitely doable on android...any thoughts?

nikolatesla20

Reaction score
I think it would be possible, of course it would have to be tested first. I think the DROID would be the best for something like this though because of it's more powerful CPU.

I don't see why this couldn't be done - the "hardest" part is filtering out the current playing part from not being "re-recorded" while recording the next track.

In fact I've though about trying this out anyway..there at one time was a theory going around that you could not record and playback at the same time. That's not true though, I did some tests a few weeks back and it works fine if you do it. I think just most people can't write multithreaded apps correctly :)

-niko

Big D

Reaction score
I would love this, too.

There HAS to be a way around this. The CPU in this thing is about 30 times more powerful than my first computer based system.

Although, I've yet to find anything to record song ideas with even passable audio quality yet so who knows.

nikolatesla20

Reaction score
Hi,

The reason for that may be because nobody that has written a sound recording app has actually had a device. They have probably used the Emulator only. The emulator only supports 8Khz sound.