Market Issues with 2.1 BB ROM after Restore from 2.2

AquaDan88

Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2009
Messages
162
Reaction score
0
Location
Ma, USA
So, I'm having issues downloading anything from the market.

I did the update.zip to the BB 0.1 RC FroYo ROM, but after finding that it was running really hot, I decided to do a restore back to my BB 1.1 Eclair ROM.

I wiped twice, the did the nandroid restore. Everything came back perfect, aside from the fact that any time I try and install or update any app, I can't get past "Starting Download..."

Any help would be super appreciated!!!

Edit: I'm using the latest baseband from Pete's All In One update. I tried going back to the previous baseband, but it didn't fix.
 

Rsswga

Member
Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
705
Reaction score
0
Location
bowdon, georgia
So, I'm having issues downloading anything from the market.

I did the update.zip to the BB 0.1 RC FroYo ROM, but after finding that it was running really hot, I decided to do a restore back to my BB 1.1 Eclair ROM.

I wiped twice, the did the nandroid restore. Everything came back perfect, aside from the fact that any time I try and install or update any app, I can't get past "Starting Download..."

Any help would be super appreciated!!!

Edit: I'm using the latest baseband from Pete's All In One update. I tried going back to the previous baseband, but it didn't fix.

I wasted half of my day trying to figure it out..I back to SD holy blu...
maybe froyo will be the bomb in a week or so...all froyo themes did same for me..just want download
 

s10blazed

New Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
I'm in the same position.

Went from BB 1.1 -> RC1

Didn't want to mess with the small problems and did a Nandroid restore of my previous ROM.

Now my market won't let me download anything. No updates, no new apps... it just hangs at "Starting download" and won't start/finish over 3G or Wifi.
 

Rsswga

Member
Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
705
Reaction score
0
Location
bowdon, georgia
I'm in the same position.

Went from BB 1.1 -> RC1

Didn't want to mess with the small problems and did a Nandroid restore of my previous ROM.

Now my market won't let me download anything. No updates, no new apps... it just hangs at "Starting download" and won't start/finish over 3G or Wifi.

I have tried 3 themes..same problem here...
 

virtuox

New Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2009
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
I had the same issue when I tried the rooted froyo leak. The only way to fix the issue is to wipe data and login to google services from scratch. Market still thinks you are on 2.2 that's why its not working. Once you wipe data and re-login to the google services everything should work fine. So backup your texts or apps then restore that data file after you wipe.
 

ckamc

Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2010
Messages
115
Reaction score
0
yeah i found myself in this problem with .01 so i went to a clean 1.1 and market works now.

going back to a clean 0.1 but idk why market messes up... kinda like to know how to counter the issue this next time
 

KevinX

New Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2009
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Thanks for the solution. I've tested a couple 2.2 ROMs and they didn't really impress me yet, except for the high benchmark results.
So I kept trying to restore various 2.1 Nandroid backups without logging in from scratch of course and none of them would work...now I know why.
 
OP
AquaDan88

AquaDan88

Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2009
Messages
162
Reaction score
0
Location
Ma, USA
So, just to be clear. Could I go into SPR and just wipe data on my BB 1.1 ROM, and that would fix the problem? Or do I have to SBF the whole phone and start from scratch?
 

KevinX

New Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2009
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
So, just to be clear. Could I go into SPR and just wipe data on my BB 1.1 ROM, and that would fix the problem? Or do I have to SBF the whole phone and start from scratch?

First you can perform a Nandroid backup (boot, data, system, etc.) of your BB 1.1 ROM that you are using, even if it is giving you the market problems. Then the following worked for me:

1. Wipe data / reset
2. Reboot and go through the initial Google sign-in process.
3. Check to see if the Market works correctly again.
4. Shutdown and perform the Nandroid restore for the backup you made.
 
OP
AquaDan88

AquaDan88

Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2009
Messages
162
Reaction score
0
Location
Ma, USA
It still not working. Did exactly as you said. What baseband are you using? Could that be the issue?

It worked when I wiped data and started fresh, however, once I restored my backup (which was a backup I made before installing FroYo), I get hit with the same issue.

I think my remedy will be to just go from scratch.
 
Top