Lost time warner email when switching to BBV3

Vindii

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2009
Messages
65
Reaction score
0
I'm not sure if this was caused by BBV3 or if something else happened but my roadrunner email was working fine until I update to the new ROM. I double checked all the setting and they are the same. I tried to remove the account and re-set it up and it still does not work. I can send email but it wont download my new email.

When it try to load more messages it says connection error. How do you know what the error is? Any ideas for me to try?
 

buckfill

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
55
Reaction score
0
Do you have another email pop3 account to try (ex - yahoo?) Just curious if it's all pop3 or TWC exclusively. Since it worked before the upgrade, could something be cached? Does TWC offer IMAP (just to test)?
 
OP
V

Vindii

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2009
Messages
65
Reaction score
0
Do you have another email pop3 account to try (ex - yahoo?) Just curious if it's all pop3 or TWC exclusively. Since it worked before the upgrade, could something be cached? Does TWC offer IMAP (just to test)?

Just tried setting up my wife account and it works fine. Tried to reset mine again but same problem. Won't connect. Wifes account is RR also. My work email works fine too.

Odd. Why would it connect to one account but not the other?

When is says connection ero why would it not give you more details?
 

buckfill

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
55
Reaction score
0
Forgive me, but I'm in IT and you know how we each have our own way of troubleshooting things.... Can you successfully pop from say an outlook client on your pc? I'm sure you can, but I just wanted to make sure we weren't missing the obvious.

I know this is really overkill, but if you rule everything else out, then it's got to be something leftover from before the flash, no? What about a good ole' wipe data 3x and cache 3x? I know that seems extreme, but if it works you'll have saved some time and frustration...
 
OP
V

Vindii

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2009
Messages
65
Reaction score
0
Forgive me, but I'm in IT and you know how we each have our own way of troubleshooting things.... Can you successfully pop from say an outlook client on your pc? I'm sure you can, but I just wanted to make sure we weren't missing the obvious.

I know this is really overkill, but if you rule everything else out, then it's got to be something leftover from before the flash, no? What about a good ole' wipe data 3x and cache 3x? I know that seems extreme, but if it works you'll have saved some time and frustration...


I actually did wipe before this flash. First wipte in a long time. That lead me to think I had settings wrong but it appears they are correct. My emial account is set-up on my home PC thru outlook so I'll try that tonight to make sure that is still working.

I've gone thru the setting like 10 times now and it is strange that one account works but not the other.
 

smokiedabong

Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2009
Messages
972
Reaction score
14
Location
Internet
Why would you use a road runner email in the first place ? When you switch the ISP you'll lose it and you have to get a new email and start spreading the new address to people . I don't know about you , but I have changed 6 ISPs in the last 12 years but my Yahoo address is the same .
 
OP
V

Vindii

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2009
Messages
65
Reaction score
0
So I had set-up my gmail to get my RR email since I never was able to figure out why it stopped working. Last night right before I went to bed I switched to a 800 MH kernel after reading this thread.

http://www.droidforums.net/forum/bugless/64914-never-would-have-believed-switching-kernels.html

I get up this morning and suddenly my RR email is working again. WFT? Strangest thing. I didn't change anything else. Why would a kernel have anything to do with downloading email? I have used the 1.1 chevy kernel before with other versions of BB without any problems. Maybe coincidence but...
 
Top