Jittery Touchscreen Interface for v0.6.1

SteveONCSU

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2010
Messages
50
Reaction score
0
Location
Raleigh, NC
Anybody else notice that moving something around or sliding the app drawer around is very jittery?

The performance is noticeably better for me. Can't wait to see how it looks after everything settles down and I'm back to stable.
 

opeth2112

New Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Yes - I am still getting it as well. My history for info : BB v.6 after total wipe - then did a install of .6.1 without wipe. Anyone who wiped prior to .6.1 still getting this same problem?
 
OP
S

SteveONCSU

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2010
Messages
50
Reaction score
0
Location
Raleigh, NC
I went from 0.5 to 0.6.1. I wiped a few times before upgrading.

Overall though I'm loving the performance. Seems to run a LOT faster, even when I've got all my apps restoring and everything is syncing for the first time.
 

bendystrawboy

Member
Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
797
Reaction score
2
*This ROM is overclocked to 800Mhz by default, not every Droid will be able to handle this clock speed!
Your Droid may not boot up or may have random shutdowns or reboots!*

try a diff kernel if that doesnt work wipe and reinstall
 
OP
S

SteveONCSU

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2010
Messages
50
Reaction score
0
Location
Raleigh, NC
*This ROM is overclocked to 800Mhz by default, not every Droid will be able to handle this clock speed!
Your Droid may not boot up or may have random shutdowns or reboots!*

try a diff kernel if that doesnt work wipe and reinstall

I thought about trying this. I'm giving it a little bit of time. Seems like its calmed down now. Maybe its under heavy load??
 

et23kochie

New Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2010
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
I know there was discuss this might be from cheap chargers. Was you phone plugged in when they were doing this?
 

prime

Kernel Developer
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
1,940
Reaction score
71
Location
Florida
Website
github.com
The voltages of the included slayher kernel are too high, try something in a ULV kernel.

Here are the slot speeds and associated vsel (voltage) values to the BB 6.x.x slayher based kernel:

mpu_opps[7] rate=800000000 opp_id=7 vsel=68
mpu_opps[6] rate=700000000 opp_id=6 vsel=64
mpu_opps[5] rate=600000000 opp_id=5 vsel=62
mpu_opps[4] rate=550000000 opp_id=4 vsel=56
mpu_opps[3] rate=500000000 opp_id=3 vsel=50
mpu_opps[2] rate=250000000 opp_id=2 vsel=39
mpu_opps[1] rate=125000000 opp_id=1 vsel=32

Here are the values of my kernel:

mpu_opps[7] rate=900000000 opp_id=7 vsel=60
mpu_opps[6] rate=800000000 opp_id=6 vsel=60
mpu_opps[5] rate=700000000 opp_id=5 vsel=50
mpu_opps[4] rate=600000000 opp_id=4 vsel=40
mpu_opps[3] rate=500000000 opp_id=3 vsel=34
mpu_opps[2] rate=400000000 opp_id=2 vsel=34
mpu_opps[1] rate=300000000 opp_id=1 vsel=34

---------------------
fivefour on xda
@f1vefour on twitter
 
OP
S

SteveONCSU

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2010
Messages
50
Reaction score
0
Location
Raleigh, NC
I know there was discuss this might be from cheap chargers. Was you phone plugged in when they were doing this?

No it wasn't plugged in. I'm thinking its a kernel problem. It seems to be a rare occasion for me now so I may just live with it until I get more time to flash a new kernel.
 

prime

Kernel Developer
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
1,940
Reaction score
71
Location
Florida
Website
github.com
Pete said he hadn't tested the rom with others(or not proper), had he tested this issue would have arisen along with others (hence the 6.1 - 6.1.1 fiasco).

---------------------
fivefour on xda
@f1vefour on twitter
 

myriad46

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2009
Messages
473
Reaction score
0
Location
Upstate, NY
Sure as sugar, it does it only when I'm plugged in!!!! I have a Motorola charger, so it's not a cheap charger issue. I'm also on a P3 kernal, so that's not likely the culprit, either.
 

prime

Kernel Developer
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
1,940
Reaction score
71
Location
Florida
Website
github.com
Sure as sugar, it does it only when I'm plugged in!!!! I have a Motorola charger, so it's not a cheap charger issue. I'm also on a P3 kernal, so that's not likely the culprit, either.

It is the voltage causing the jittery motions on screen, I know because while plugged into my laptops USB (while laptop is plugged into wall outlet) I have the jittery effect...unplug laptop from wall (which decreases USB voltage output) and jitter ceases. Output of wall charger is always at maximum voltage...like USB charging while laptop is plugged in....this equals jitter unless you drop the voltage of the currently running slot..or all slots above the charge minimum.

---------------------
fivefour on xda
@f1vefour on twitter
 
Top