JIT for NOOBS

IEatCake

Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2010
Messages
63
Reaction score
0
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
You'll get to know me as the guy who likes to make everything silly-easy ;)

Uhh...yeah :) Too easy sometimes...

Chevy, when I click the install I am getting the following message
'adb' is not a recognized internal or external ...command

Is there another way to get JIT working on my Droid, I am able to run commands from adb Shell on both my PC and Terminal Emulator, for some reason I am having problems with the file you posted. Maybe I can run it directly on my DROID with Terminal Emulator? any thoughts?

No man that is a .cmd file. For WINDOWS, not Android...

But I would still like to know if there is a way to get this working on Ubuntu...

Best guess is that if you have the Android SDK installed on Ubuntu and you were familiar enough with putting adb on your path you could just run the following to install and turn it on:

adb remount > nul 2>&1
adb push vmlibs/libdvm.so /system/lib > nul 2>&1
adb push vmlibs/libnativehelper.so /system/lib > nul 2>&1
adb push vmlibs/bin/dalvikvm /system/bin > nul 2>&1
adb shell busybox chmod 755 /system/bin/dalvikvm > nul 2>&1

adb shell "busybox sed -i 's/#dalvik.vm.execution-mode=int:jit//g' /system/build.prop"
adb shell "busybox sed -i 's/dalvik.vm.execution-mode=int:jit//g' /system/build.prop"
adb shell "echo dalvik.vm.execution-mode=int:jit>>/system/build.prop"

adb shell mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system > nul 2>&1
adb shell sync

and then this to turn it off:
adb remount > nul 2>&1

adb shell mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system > nul 2>&1

adb shell "busybox grep -v int:jit /system/build.prop > /data/local/tmp/build.prop"
adb shell busybox cp /data/local/tmp/build.prop /system

adb shell mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system > nul 2>&1
adb shell sync
 

IEatCake

Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2010
Messages
63
Reaction score
0
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
All that was done with the "WIN" stuff was to put it into a cmd file (would have worked with a bat file too) so that you don't have to type all of the adb shell commands. I mean I suppose if you wanted to get fancy with it you could just apply
SET PATH = %PATH%;<ANDROID_HOME>/tools
to the top of each cmd file so that you don't have to worry about a path variable.
 

mzimand

Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2010
Messages
65
Reaction score
0
I may have been unclear, I am able to see the tools:
C:\Users\mzacer\Documents\android-sdk_r04-windows\android-sdk-windows\tools
I type CMD and can get into the mt Droid and can find my Droid by typing
adb shell devices

but when I try run the JIT file it says "does not recognize ' adb" as a commmand,
 

hondaguy520

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2009
Messages
277
Reaction score
3
Location
sw florida
im having same problem says cant find my device, but i have used adb twice before no problems, including once today to do a bootimage. how come it cant find it by putting jit on ?>??/
 

hondaguy520

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2009
Messages
277
Reaction score
3
Location
sw florida
This calls for a banana dance but I'm on my droid and there's no option :(
Anyways now someone want to figure out my problem 4 posts up?
 

Signum

Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2009
Messages
362
Reaction score
17
holy hell batman i just benched 126ms in setcpu with JIT enabled O_O

edit: 10.656 mflops/s fastest with linpack

edit2: that 128ms was the lowest ive ever seen, benchmark now hovers around 160ms
 

peterpressure

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2009
Messages
247
Reaction score
0
Since I enabled JIT, my work email force closes when I open a new email and my phone has rebooted a few times.
 

peterpressure

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2009
Messages
247
Reaction score
0
How do I uninstall this? Whether on or off, my phone simply reboots every few min.

Back out these change?

adb remount > nul 2>&1
adb push vmlibs/libdvm.so /system/lib > nul 2>&1
adb push vmlibs/libnativehelper.so /system/lib > nul 2>&1
adb push vmlibs/bin/dalvikvm /system/bin > nul 2>&1
adb shell busybox chmod 755 /system/bin/dalvikvm > nul 2>&1
adb shell "busybox sed -i 's/#dalvik.vm.execution-mode=int:jit//g' /system/build.prop"
adb shell "busybox sed -i 's/dalvik.vm.execution-mode=int:jit//g' /system/build.prop"
adb shell "echo dalvik.vm.execution-mode=int:jit>>/system/build.prop"
adb shell mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system > nul 2>&1
adb shell sync
 
Top