I've Decided to Root, But..

michaelearth

Reaction score
After hearing about how the Droid can now be Overclocked to 1ghz, it has given me a reason to finally root my Motorola Droid. But the problem is that I I have no knowledge in the area of rooting. But im not computer illiterate. So I need your guys help with the following questions:

1. How to I Root my droid. Is there a step by step guide?
  2. After its rooted, how do I overclock it to 800mhz and than set the cpu to lower the speed when asleep and during other various tasks?
  3. Can I switch back from rooting and go back to stock android?
  4. If I were to get in a situation where I needed a replacement from Verizon, could I just switch back to stock Android and they would not be able to tell that it was rooted so that my warrant is still intact?
Thanks

INSANENEIVIESIS

Developer
Reaction score
Website
www.shadowrom.com
After hearing about how the Droid can now be Overclocked to 1ghz, it has given me a reason to finally root my Motorola Droid. But the problem is that I I have no knowledge in the area of rooting. But im not computer illiterate. So I need your guys help with the following questions:

1. How to I Root my droid. Is there a step by step guide?
  2. After its rooted, how do I overclock it to 800mhz and than set the cpu to lower the speed when asleep and during other various tasks?
  3. Can I switch back from rooting and go back to stock android?
  4. If I were to get in a situation where I needed a replacement from Verizon, could I just switch back to stock Android and they would not be able to tell that it was rooted so that my warrant is still intact?
Thanks
1. heres the youtube vid and forum i used works great and easy if you follow steps just ignore the 2,1 thing.

[video=youtube;3Qec_HFusbA]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Qec_HFusbA&feature=channel[/video]

How to root and install droid 2.1 - Android Forums

2. idk.

3. yes its in the forum link i provided.