Impression on a rooted Droid 2

rectrix55

Reaction score
Ive owned my Droid 2 for a few days now I am a complete android noob.

I have debranded a phone before so rooting was actually easy and automated mostly.

Easier 1-2-3 Droid 2 Root for Windows / Linux / Mac - xda-developers

Once I rooted the phone i downloaded the following:
Titanium backup pro
cpu benchmark
SetPCU
Quadrant
Root Explorer
Droid X/2 overclocker (The Jrumy sp? version)

Overclocker/SetPCU:
After downloading the apps I did a full backup with Titanium.
My benchmark with CPU Benchmark was 783ms 1000mhz
I then tried different settings and have settled with 1.3ghz low voltage
my new average CPU benchmark is 595-610ms 1300mhz at 1.2 it was 605-650ms. I have yet tried saving the profile to backup. I use SetPCU profile to control the speed which i believe helps with battery life but havent owned the phone long enough

With Quadrant my benchmark was 1550ish at 1.2mhz and 1650ish with 1.3mhz

Titanium Backup Pro:
I began freezing unwanted apps, setup apps to install onto sd card, and moved apps to sd card. This app is great because it highlights apps that are frozen and you can easily go and unfreeze them later if you mad a oops.

Root Explorer:
This software offer a ton of options but there is the potential for causing a lot of damage. I rarely use this but I am sure over time it will come in handy.

My overall impression is that rooting hasn't really done much for my phone. I mean the benchmarks have improved but I cant tell much difference in daily use of the phone. I like the geekfactor of it but rooting didn't really change much on the phone. I like having full access to my phone which is a big pro for me for rooting and it keeps the door open for options down the road.

I really have no disire to Tether my phone so that benefit doesnt do anything for me.

*******Disclaimer*********