If you are having memory issues with (L)GB ROMS, try this...

rsimpson

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2010
Messages
144
Reaction score
0
Like many of you, I've been plagued with too little memory on the OG on any GB ROM. I've tried Supercharger this, AutoKiller that with very limited success. I have a lot of apps running at any given time so it is what it is. Apps like Google Maps, the camera, Tweetdeck, Google Voice, start to not work reliably. However...

I'm on LGB 2.6 now and it is great. I don't run any supercharger scripts or Autokiller. I do use Swapper2 however and man does it make a difference. I can say, for the first time since I've been on a GB ROM that the OG is singin' along very nicely and with LGB powering things, life is great. I got a new Anker Battery for the OG (Amazon.com: Anker 1500mAh Li-ion Battery for Motorola Droid 2 II A855 A955; Motorola Milestone 2 XT701 XT702 XT720 - White: Electronics) and am going on 23 hours since my last charge on moderate use. For some reason this battery doesn't give battery temps (does anyone know why?) but I do use SetCPU to monitor the CPU temps and it rarely gets over 110f (that's the cpu, not battery). I'm running Chevy .9ghz LV 5/31 kernel w/ min clock of .25ghz.

All is well in the land of the OG. The sad thing is... I just turned the corner on my contract and am up for the $50 discount on new phone (big woop right?). Will hold off till the Vigor and/or rumored "Nexus Prime" arrives.

Cheers all.
 
Last edited:

b-jammin21

Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
902
Reaction score
10
Could you enlighten us on what your settings are in Swapper2? I would like to use it, but I have no idea what it is, what it does, and what settings would be best. Thanks.
 

thaDroidz

Silver Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
2,056
Reaction score
44
Location
neptune
Is this same principal as using compcache that us built into liquid's roms?

posted tomorrow using the space time continuum app on my D1...
 
OP
R

rsimpson

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2010
Messages
144
Reaction score
0
Could you enlighten us on what your settings are in Swapper2? I would like to use it, but I have no idea what it is, what it does, and what settings would be best. Thanks.

It basically uses your SD card as swapspace effectively giving you more working RAM. I'm just using the default settings. If anyone has advice for good OG Swapper2 settings, we'd love to hear.
 
OP
R

rsimpson

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2010
Messages
144
Reaction score
0
Is this same principal as using compcache that us built into liquid's roms?

posted tomorrow using the space time continuum app on my D1...

Good question. I don't know how the guts of Swapper2 works (does it compress the swap similar to compcache?) but the principal seems to be similar for both. I've never enabled compcache so I can't speak for it. If anyone has experience with either/both and can share knowledge, that would be great.
 

metalspring

Silver Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
2,228
Reaction score
24
Location
hermitage, pa
Compcache compresses a portion of the ram and stores some of the data of recently opened apps for quick access, so it does use a small part of your available ram.
Swap however uses a portion of the sdcard as uncompressed additional ram and stores recently opened app data there. BUT it tends to be slower because most sdcards dont have great read/write speeds AND swap hurts your sdcard and can ruin the sdcard over time

Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
 

danceswithbongs

Active Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2010
Messages
1,031
Reaction score
5
Location
A TeePee outside of Detroit
Metalspring has a good point as far as swap file is not the greatest for sd health. But instead I partitioned my sd with an ext partition and a swap partition. ROM MANAGER can set this up. But copy sd to computer, as the sd will be reformatted. This is important because now rather than creating and destroying a swap file on the regular main part of the sd which impacts health, you have a designated space for your swap which is formatted correctly for swap. Apparently swap uses a different file system or management so the swap partition is specifically formatted for swap data. You could never move or store any apps on the swap partition as they need to be stored in a place with the correct file system set up.

I have found that since I began using only swapper2 with my partition and completely dropped compcache, my experience has been great and I have seemed to avoid many of the issues that lack of memory causes.

There are several possible reasons behind the smoother results. Also I will provide my swapper2 settings below. Basically compcache needs to have memory available to do what it is supposed to, which is compressing and decompressing memory and exchanging it or dumping it.
The issue is that sometimes compcache hits a virtual bottleneck where it can't decompress and recompress because everything is all trying to go through the same "doorway" all at the same time. Think Three Stooges but in RAM form.

My setup for swapper2 is as follows :
256mb linuxswap partition
Erased the swap folder name on first settings page and checked all the boxes.
Set swappiness at 100
Now the advanced settings page, check yes or on for all options
No need to type in the location of the swap partition, as the app will populate that field with the correct info
Enter busybox location in field provided, usually /system/xbin/busybox

Give a reboot and see what you think. One last thing is I also up my vm heap to 60 plus or minus 2 just depending if I am trying to see if there is a particular sweet spot. But never any glitch with vm between 58 to 62.

But I definitely don't have too many apps that run constantly and demand a lot of RAM.
I like to freeze apps like maps or others with a giant memory footprint. Takes 10 seconds to unfreeze and open, and it still has the settings you had when you froze it.

But there is a definite tipping point of too many widgets and apps that are constantly re syncing like Facebook, twitter, live scrolling news feeds or a live scoreboard widget.

Hope any who try this, find they have great results.

walkin the walk while tappin the talk
danceswithbongs
 
OP
R

rsimpson

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2010
Messages
144
Reaction score
0
Awesome, thanks for the ^ info. Very helpful. Some questions...

When you do the SD partition and copy all SD content to PC before hand... are there any more details about that? For example... seems like if you copy SD to PC, then partition the SD and everything on the SD is lost... what about all the apps that are stored there? I mean, I know all that will come back when you copy back from the PC, but in the mean time... just after the partition is created... won't the system get hosed up?

What do you mean by "freeze"?

And, there is so much talk about SD card degradation doing things like swap... what is your take on that? I've got the same card in there since I've had the phone... two years now. I read somewhere an analysis of what it would take to reach the tipping point on an SD card and it's something like 5 years with heavy IO.
 
Last edited:

danceswithbongs

Active Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2010
Messages
1,031
Reaction score
5
Location
A TeePee outside of Detroit
rsimpson
I am on tapatalk so I will answer within your quote below in CAPS since I can't change my font color

Awesome, thanks for the ^ info. Very helpful. Some questions...
NO PROBLEM
When you do the SD partition and copy all SD content to PC before hand... are there any more details about that? NOPE, EASY AS IT SOUNDS For example... seems like if you copy SD to PC, then partition the SD and everything on the SD is lost... what about all the apps that are stored there? I AM GOING TO ASSUME YOU MEAN APPS YOU RUN USING APP2SD TECHNIQUE FROM FROYO. MEANING STORED IN ANDROID_SECURE. THOSE APPS WOULD BE DELETED SINCE THEY AREN'T ON A SEPARATE PARTITION, BUT RATHER A QUASI PARTITION THAT THE OS CREATES. SO DO A BACKUP FIRST AND COPY THAT TO THE COMPUTER, THIS WAY YOU CAN RESTORE THE BACKUP WITH THE APPS ON THE SD ONCE YOU COPY EVERYTHING BACK TO THE SD. I mean, I know all that will come back when you copy back from the PC, but in the mean time... just after the partition is created... won't the system get hosed up? NO SINCE YOUR DATA AND SUCH IS STORED ON THE INTERNAL PARTITIONS THAT ARE WITHIN THE DROID ITSELF. JUST MOVE ANY APPS YOU MAY NEED TO USE FROM THE SD OVER TO INTERNAL DATA.

What do you mean by "freeze"?
LET'S SAY YOU ARE BOOTING UP YOUR PC, INITIALLY IT NEEDS TO FULLY BOOT AND HAVE ALL THE STARTUP ITEMS GO THROUGH THEIR STEPS. IF YOU DON'T GIVE IT TIME AND JUST IMMEDIATELY START OPENING FILES AND PROGRAMS, YOU MAY WELL SEE THAT SUDDENLY THE COMPUTER DOESN'T SEEM TO BE DOING ANYTHING? THE ITEMS YOU SELECTED TO OPEN OR RUN MAY NOT OPEN UP. AND YOU MAY SEE THE CURSOR BECOME A SPINNING CIRCLE.
THIS IS LIKE THE FREEZE, AS YOU HAVE OVERWHELMED SOMETHING LIKE THE CPU OR RAM CAPACITY AND CAN'T HANDLE EVERYTHING AT ONCE. THE FREEZE IS A STOP GAP TO KEEP YOU FROM PUTTING EVEN MORE OF A DEMAND ON THE ALREADY OVERTAXED COMPUTER SYSTEMS.

And, there is so much talk about SD card degradation doing things like swap... what is your take on that? MY TAKE IS THAT YOU ARE MISTAKING ME FOR SOMEONE WHO KNOWS A LOT OF TECHNICAL ANSWERS ACROSS THE BOARD, I HAVE TO COME CLEAN AND TELL YOU I DON'T. ANY INFO I SHARE IS MERELY SOMETHING I WAS TAUGHT BY THOSE WITH THE KNOWLEDGE REQUIRED. SO MY TAKE IS I REALLY CAN'T SAY. I've got the same card in there since I've had the phone... two years now. I DO AS WELL. I read somewhere an analysis of what it would take to reach the tipping point on an SD card and it's something like 5 years with heavy IO. IF THAT'S THE CASE THEN IT SHOULD BE COOL. I BELIEVE THE UNDERLYING REASON THAT SWAP CAN BE BAD FOR THE SD IS SPECIFICALLY REGARDING A SWAP FILE/FOLDER. AS THAT IS PUT ON THE MAIN PART OF YOUR SD WHICH ISN'T FORMATTED FOR SWAP. SO YOU HAVE A CONSTANT ALTERING OF THE FILE SYSTEM FORMATTING ALL OVER THE MAIN SD WHERE SPACE IS AVAILABLE. SO I THINK IT IS MORE A CHANGING FORMAT TYPE OF SECTIONS ALL OVER THE SD AS TIME PASSES. THIS IS MERELY A GUESS BASED ON APPLIED LOGIC,SO IT IS NOT A FACT THAT I COULD BACK UP.

HOPE THAT HELPS AND I HAVE FOUND THAT AS LONG AS YOU HAVE A GOOD BACKUP OF A ROM ON YOUR COMPUTER, IT'S PRETTY DIFFICULT TO ACTUALLY BRICK THE PHONE. DIFFICULT NOT IMPOSSIBLE.
I JUST MESS AROUND AND LEARN THROUGH TRIAL AND ERROR. AND WHEN TROUBLE REARS ITS UGLY HEAD, I FIRST TRY TO MACGYVER MY WAY OUT. THEN, I COME HERE AND SEE IF ANYONE CAN HELP ME WHERE I'M STUCK.

THIS IS A VERY HELPFUL COMMUNITY FULL OF MEMBERS WHO ARE GENEROUS WITH THEIR TIME AND SHARING THEIR KNOWLEDGE.

BASICALLY STANDING ON THE SHOULDERS OF GIANTS.

GOOD LUCK AND IF YOU ONLY WANT TO MAKE A SWAP PARTITION THERE ARE A LOT OF FREE SOFTWARE FOR PARTITIONING THE SD ONCE INSERTED INTO A COMPUTER. ONE I BELIEVE IS MIN PART TOOL OR A SIMILAR NAME.

walkin the walk while tappin the talk
danceswithbongs
 

lfylove

Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
450
Reaction score
1
When I hit on it just says please wait? Droid 1 v6 supercharger aggressive 1, cm7 nightly 158

Nvmind it worked
Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
 
Last edited:

666ogre666

Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2010
Messages
583
Reaction score
1
Location
New Jersey
@danceswithbongs So I made a 256mb ext partition thru rom manager, how do I go about setting it up to work in that partition, Im new to swapper but Id like to get it set up

edit: I may have gotten it but it says "turning swap off(partition) FAIL" -> swapoff: /dev/block/mmcblk0p3: Invalid argument, then formatting enabling are both OK

Double secret edit: After it reboot it says its all ok. Any way i can check beyond just performance gains?
 
Last edited:
OP
R

rsimpson

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2010
Messages
144
Reaction score
0
Doesn't Clockwork Recovery have a partition SD option anymore? I can't seem to find it.

I'd like to do everything while in recovery... copy sd data to the pc... partition the sd card, then copy everything back. then reboot.
 
Last edited:

metalspring

Silver Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
2,228
Reaction score
24
Location
hermitage, pa
Rom manager can partition but I don't think there's an option in clockwork recovery to do it

Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
 

metalspring

Silver Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
2,228
Reaction score
24
Location
hermitage, pa
Btw, any type of swap will damage the sdcard as far as I know, although a swap partition is much much easier on the sdcard. It is essentially continually reading, writing, and erasing data on the sdcard and that's what damages or just shortens the life of the sdcard. However if you plan to upgrade phones every 2 years like most people and you copy data from your current sdcard to the new one most phones come with you should be just fine.
However the main limitation of swap is that sdcards can only read and write so fast (it depends on the class of sdcard, most that come with phones aren't too great)
And on a side note, its better to use a computer program to partition your sdcard because you can make the partition have different file system formats (ext2, ext3, ext4) whereas rom manager doesn't give you an option or even tell you what type of partition it makes (I think its ext3 but not entirely sure)

Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
 

danceswithbongs

Active Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2010
Messages
1,031
Reaction score
5
Location
A TeePee outside of Detroit
@danceswithbongs So I made a 256mb ext partition thru rom manager, how do I go about setting it up to work in that partition, Im new to swapper but Id like to get it set up

edit: I may have gotten it but it says "turning swap off(partition) FAIL" -> swapoff: /dev/block/mmcblk0p3: Invalid argument, then formatting enabling are both OK

Double secret edit: After it reboot it says its all ok. Any way i can check beyond just performance gains?
Ogre
Important question, did you make that a linuxswap partition or an ext partition? This is key as the formattting for the 2 are different due to different types of file systems and possibly management.
Best way to know if it works is by the info option within swapper2. If the 2nd group of numbers is showing something like 249000 swap and then a smaller number below that saying the amount that is free.

Btw, any type of swap will damage the sdcard as far as I know, although a swap partition is much much easier on the sdcard. It is essentially continually reading, writing, and erasing data on the sdcard and that's what damages or just shortens the life of the sdcard. However if you plan to upgrade phones every 2 years like most people and you copy data from your current sdcard to the new one most phones come with you should be just fine.
However the main limitation of swap is that sdcards can only read and write so fast (it depends on the class of sdcard, most that come with phones aren't too great)
And on a side note, its better to use a computer program to partition your sdcard because you can make the partition have different file system formats (ext2, ext3, ext4) whereas rom manager doesn't give you an option or even tell you what type of partition it makes (I think its ext3 but not entirely sure)

Sent from my Droid using DroidForums

Metalspring speaks truth and from being here long enough, Metalspring definitely has a much greater understanding of most things, regarding the intricacies of computing etc., than I could ever claim. Also, Oh, someone else asked about CWR doing the partition, and Metalspring is right about needing to use RManager to choose to partition and set up the size you want for each partition, to start the process. It will then boot to CWR, and run its processes while in recovery.

Metalspring
One question for you regarding your information on how RMANAGER formats the ext partition. I am confused as to your comment about what ext type of partition is made, and that the file system formats are different between the 3 ext types.
I am confused because I have mounted the ext partition on ext2 through ext4 depending on the modules available. And have never had any conflicts with wrong file system format.
Is it possible that the file systems for ext partition are the same across the board, and it is what modules you install that use the same format but manage the files in slightly different ways?
Which may be why I have seen people mention that mounting ext partition using the ext4 modules, if possible, is recommended as that module has the best of the three ext modules file system management.
I think that is information I read from prime on his deprimed kernel thread.

Just wondering if you meant what I just stated and I misunderstood what you wrote? Or if I understood and have heard different info and had experience that seem to not completely support the statement? As evidenced, my mounting the ext partition as 2 through 4 and seeing no ill effects.

Thanks for any clarification you might be able to provide, just because I want to make sure I actually understood the message you conveyed.

Hope the day has been treating everyone well.

danceswithbongs


walkin the walk while tappin the talk
danceswithbongs
 
Top