ICS 235 and Smart Actions Problem

Mike.757

Silver Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2011
Messages
3,151
Reaction score
474
Location
Virginia Beach
I updated to the ICS 235 leak and it has smart actions. I loaded one of the smart action samples labeled "Battery Extender." When it is disabled, I can turn off my screen and turn it back on as I need to with no problems. When Battery extender is enabled and I turn off my screen then back on, a warning pops up that I am over my data limit and that extra charges may be applied even though I have unlimited data. Data is turn off and I cannot get data back on until I re-boot the phone. Anybody else having problems with Smart Actions?
 

Bionic_Racer

Member
Joined
May 31, 2012
Messages
355
Reaction score
1
Location
USA
striker85 said:
Care to detail why?

Well in my case it reduced battery life. Not a huge reduction but enough to be noticeable. And the whole point of me using it to begin with was to help extend battery life. Very self defeating!
 

linuxgator

Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2011
Messages
242
Reaction score
0
Location
Florida
It can work great for certain actions. Personally, I have it set to start up a music player app and turn on GPS when I put my phone in the vehicle navigation dock. As far as the battery saving thing goes, it does have some issues on the standard setting. For example, it recommends setting brightness to 25% while low on battery, however in many circumstances with autobrightness, you may actually be at a lower brightness setting.
 
OP
Mike.757

Mike.757

Silver Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2011
Messages
3,151
Reaction score
474
Location
Virginia Beach
I'm trying to show what I am experiencing. The first pic shows the rule, the second shows that is is active. The third shows That I do not have any limit set. It was not tripped before or after. The last shows the message that I get telling me that I am over my limit on my unlimited data. I don't know if it is because a problem with SA, with my ICS leak 235 or a combination. I also notice that my battery is not as good with it and that was the reason I tried it.

View attachment 53801



View attachment 53802



View attachment 53803



View attachment 53804
 
Last edited:

linuxgator

Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2011
Messages
242
Reaction score
0
Location
Florida
It looks as though you have Juice Defender installed as well, is it possible that there is some sort of conflict going on with that?

I loaded up the Battery Extender smart action, and could not replicate the error you're getting. I'm also on .235.
 
Last edited:
OP
Mike.757

Mike.757

Silver Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2011
Messages
3,151
Reaction score
474
Location
Virginia Beach
I forgot to disable it this time but it does the same thing when it is disabled.
 

linuxgator

Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2011
Messages
242
Reaction score
0
Location
Florida
Hmm, that's odd. Do you have data roaming enabled? I've heard of weird error messages like that if it's disabled.
 

greeneink

New Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Location
Columbus, OH
I love smart actions. I use 2 currently.
1. When I arrive at home, location triggers wi-fi to turn on.
2. At 9 o'clock my sound and vibrate turns off so I dont get interrupted for the rest of the night. It also has VIP callers so I can allow my children to ring through, not the mother-in-law ;)
 

skidoo

Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Messages
41
Reaction score
0
Location
Virginia, USA
I tried to replicate the problem too. Worked fine.

My guess it's that it's some sort of conflict with Juice Defender. Whether it's "disabled" or not, it's still installed, and could be hooking some important intents or something.

___
Sent from my phone. Please excuse typos.
 

linuxgator

Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2011
Messages
242
Reaction score
0
Location
Florida
Maybe try changing your Data Usage Cycle dates to something like 2 days ago until the same day next month. I suspect it might have something to do with the amount of data that you've used. Even though you have an unlimited data account, they still do throttling, and there may be something written into the SA program code that assumes you've got a limited account.
 
OP
Mike.757

Mike.757

Silver Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2011
Messages
3,151
Reaction score
474
Location
Virginia Beach
skidoo said:
I tried to replicate the problem too. Worked fine.

My guess it's that it's some sort of conflict with Juice Defender. Whether it's "disabled" or not, it's still installed, and could be hooking some important intents or something.

___
Sent from my phone. Please excuse typos.

Skidoo, you were right! I uninstalled Juice Defender and SA its working add advertised. Now to choose which one to use...

Edit: i was pre-mature in my declaration of victory. I tried it when I was plugged in. One of the triggers is being unplugged. So, with Juice Defender uninstalled, SA still kills data for me on 235.
 
Last edited:

Gorlock

New Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Smart actions just sucks. Period.

I set up several smart actions to disable WiFi and GPS based on time periods, battery level, and movement. My WiFi would turn off or would refuse to turn on, the text of the smart actions became garbled, and WiFi would not connect properly even after I deleted the smart actions. I had to wipe and reset my phone. Everything works fine now. There is some buggy-ness to them.
 
Top