I hope there is an update that gives us more screens

SDiener72

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
27
Reaction score
0
I love my droid. but three home screens isnt enough.

Apple iPhone has 11

I hope that we get more at some point.

Anyone heard anything?

I heard the hero has 5
 
OP
S

SDiener72

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
27
Reaction score
0
Now i just found out the eris has 7 home screens.

Why is the powerhouse android phone the droid getting the least amount of home screens. i dont get it.
 

NvrEnough

Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2009
Messages
165
Reaction score
0
Location
Newark CA
Havent heard of anything but Im running out of room. More screens would be good.
 
OP
S

SDiener72

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
27
Reaction score
0
Yea if we have the best android phone in the world, how come we get skimpy three screens?

anyone know
 

suzukimethod

Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
83
Reaction score
1
Location
tucson, gulf cost
Use some folders on the main screen...I plan to, and group applications by general themes (photo editors, social media, news programs, system tools, etc.)
 

mjs31

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
864
Reaction score
0
Location
NE Texas
I love my droid. but three home screens isnt enough.

Apple iPhone has 11

I hope that we get more at some point.

Anyone heard anything?

I heard the hero has 5


Yeah.. I am now wanting more screens, but folders work as well...to a point
 

Baconstrip

Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2009
Messages
69
Reaction score
0
Download a home replacement, like openhome. I think you can have up to 8 screens?
 

New2u

Super Moderator
Joined
Oct 25, 2009
Messages
3,694
Reaction score
69
Location
Tallahassee, Fl
Yeah home replacements work well, once they are full integrated for the 2.0 moto droid, there shouldn't be much issues, as some come with 8 some with 5, 3... Folders do help for the most part. I think i'd be more then happy with 5... 11 seems like it's just way to many (not a bad thing though). But hell i mean if it has 11 and i don't use them, i don't mind them being there if ever need.
 
OP
S

SDiener72

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
27
Reaction score
0
where can i get open home.
when i go to market alli see are open home skins. not the actual program
 

Droider

Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
106
Reaction score
0
There's a number of apps that work on previous versions of Android that need to be fixed by the developers before they will work on Android 2.0 which is on our Droids. ChompSMS is one I'm waiting for and I'm guessing OpenHome must be in the same boat.
 

Poley

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2009
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
I don't get the multiple home screens. Why would one need 8 screens?
 

smilepak

Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
182
Reaction score
0
I think the # of home screens was given as 3 for a reason. They want to gage performance. THe more home screen available and people have stuff on there, the transition between them will begin to lag. I think they will release an update with more home screen, but slowly adding, rather going straight to 11 like Apple iPhone
 

andjarnic

Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
239
Reaction score
0
Location
Sacramento area, CA
Not sure if the apple GS has "widgets" on their screens, I only recall icons and my wife's only has little icons that don't do things like updated facebook posts, etc. However, on the android because it does allow real-time updates to the widgets on the screens, I can see where more of them might allow a user to put a lot more interactive widgets on the home screens and bog things down. Just a thought.. not entirely sure on this yet...
 

hett

Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2009
Messages
146
Reaction score
1
Location
South Florida
Droid has 3 screens as opposed to the Eris and Hero because the Eris and Hero are running custom, modified versions of Android 1.5 aka Cupcake. The Droid is a Google Experience phone which means that the operating system is in a state sort of "as Google intended" which is three screens.

Edit: Also, widgets are the biggest resource hogs of all on Android. Loading all five of a Hero's screens up with widgets makes it pretty laggy. Don't despair.
 

mchoffa

Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2009
Messages
107
Reaction score
0
I think they will release an update with more home screen, but slowly adding, rather going straight to 11 like Apple iPhone

I think apple only allowed 3 screens if I remember right (on my 1st gen iPod touch) and then with 2.0 (and apps) they opened it up
 
Top