How to unistal/stop unecassary ICS bloatware?

cjj2d

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2012
Messages
69
Reaction score
1
Looking for some help to speed up my bionic with ICS. Seems like it is being bogged down, and I have very little on my sd card and internal storage.

Whats the best way to go about getting rid of all the crap they have loaded, and what is safe to get rid of?
 

jhom

Active Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2010
Messages
406
Reaction score
33
Location
Dallas, TX
Looking for some help to speed up my bionic with ICS. Seems like it is being bogged down, and I have very little on my sd card and internal storage.

Whats the best way to go about getting rid of all the crap they have loaded, and what is safe to get rid of?

You can disable the bloat. Use this method:

Goto Settings>Apps>All>choose the bloat>disable. For some of the bloat, you will first need to choose stop updates and then disable. Enjoy.
 
OP
C

cjj2d

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2012
Messages
69
Reaction score
1
You can disable the bloat. Use this method:

Goto Settings>Apps>All>choose the bloat>disable. For some of the bloat, you will first need to choose stop updates and then disable. Enjoy.

yeah, i typed before I thought.... did that last night. thanks though!

still seems a little sluggish.
 

DoctorV

Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
286
Reaction score
11
Great topic! This is actually what I was just wondering how to do :)

Now I have a related followup question. Back when I had GB I was rooted and used to freeze apps with Titanium Back Up but I was told there were a few apps that I shouldn't freeze because it was cause trouble with my phone. Is this still the case with ICS or can I disable any app I want without consequence?
 

macpro88

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2011
Messages
1,398
Reaction score
83
Location
Ohio
if you phone is being bogged down, chances are there could be something else, have you rebooted the phone? booted into stock recovery and cleared cache?
 
OP
C

cjj2d

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2012
Messages
69
Reaction score
1
if you phone is being bogged down, chances are there could be something else, have you rebooted the phone? booted into stock recovery and cleared cache?

trying that now
 
OP
C

cjj2d

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2012
Messages
69
Reaction score
1
if worse comes to worse and still can't get it working the way it should, a good 'ol factory reset may do the trick...

will that lose root? would voodoo keep it through a factory reset?
 

macpro88

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2011
Messages
1,398
Reaction score
83
Location
Ohio
will that lose root? would voodoo keep it through a factory reset?

factory reset does not affect the /system/ which is where root lives, it only wipes the data and apps off your phone. You will not loose root.
 

whiddles

Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
223
Reaction score
0
Not a fan of the ics so far. Its like I had gotten a new phone.
 
Top