[How-To] Force Motorola Droid 2.1 OTA Update (ESE81)

shannonhill58

New Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
is everyone's pinch to zoom working? Mine it not but i have everything else working.:)
 

pcallycat

New Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2010
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Mine is working. Be sure that you are on a website or image that is actually zoomable. For example, mobile sites that natively fit in the screen, usually don't enable the zoom function.
 

jinyimichael

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2009
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Please help !!! !!!

Download this file:

https://android.clients.google.com/updates/voles/signed-voles-ESE81-from-ESD56.fa406da6.zip

OR

signed-voles-ESE81-from-ESD56.fa406da6.zip

Put on the root of your sdcard (not in a folder)

Rename to update.zip

Power phone off

Boot into recovery (power phone on while holding down x)

When you see the triangle with the exclamation point, press the volume up key and camera button key (only press the camera key down half way)

Navigate to “apply update.zip” and press the gold center button on the keyboard to select it. It will start the update process

Reboot

If your installation is 'aborted', it's probably because you named the file update.zip in Windows, which results in a file called update.zip.zip. Try renaming it to just 'update'

-------------------------------
credit to ugot2go123 and Speeddymon at Alldroid.


I did the forced update to 2.1 However, I don't know if this is what some of you are experiencing. I still three screens like before, don't know that's normal. Another weird this is Market can't open, i open it, it closes itself in a second. No matter how many times I try, it does the same thing all the time. Is that normal or there is a way to fix it.. HELP PLEASE .....
 

xRITE AIDEx

Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2010
Messages
107
Reaction score
0
Mine keeps saying "aborted" I tried renaming it and nothing, help please i've tried doing it over and over
 

E.1999

New Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2010
Messages
20
Reaction score
0
does this work with a rooted phone with nandroid? if so how do i do it just put it in the nandroid folder?
 

xRITE AIDEx

Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2010
Messages
107
Reaction score
0
Mine keeps saying "aborted" I tried renaming it and nothing, help please i've tried doing it over and over
Do you have windows 7?

No I thought you could do this all on the phone, no compute involved(but vista) and if you could, please walk me through step by step, every detail please) thank you so much

Edit: btw the computer isnt even letting the phone get read on here, as like theres no driver at all. Its no connecting basicly
 
Last edited:

artshark

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2009
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
weird, regarding no 3d launcher. oh well. 3d wallpapers work fine, but probably waste too much battery
 

gr8scotts

New Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
help my phone just keeps going threw the droid flash screen over and over after i tried to force update.
 
Last edited:
Top