[How To] Fine Tune Virtual Memory (Only In Bugless Beast!) 6/15/10

peteralfonso

Premium Member
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
844
Reaction score
1
*For Advanced Users Only*

*If you adjust these settings I will not provide support*

Navigate to /system/etc/sysctl.conf

As you can see there are some virtual memory tweaks already in there that you all have been testing (in V0.2) and probably didn't even know it (I warned you by stating "experimental" in my ROM topic).

These tweaks may or may not be causing your shutdown/reboot issues. I have raised the minimum clock speed to 250 and my shutdown/reboot issues completely stopped with me still using these tweaks.

You can Google "sysctl.conf" or use bit.ly/aKp0zg as a reference for things you can add to the file and tweak.

Enjoy, the added sysctl.conf support only found in Bugless Beast (for now until it's Kanged!) dancedroid
 
Last edited:

Phxphenom

Member
Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
287
Reaction score
1
I am not exactly sure what you want us to do here. I went into Root Explorer and found the following at sysctl.conf:

vm.swappiness=0
vm.dirty_writeback_centisecs=800
vm.dirty_ratio=30
vm.min_free_kbytes=2048
vm.laptop_mode=1

So please elaborate what is to be done. Thanks in advance, Pete.

Marc
 
OP
P

peteralfonso

Premium Member
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
844
Reaction score
1
I am not exactly sure what you want us to do here. I went into Root Explorer and found the following at sysctl.conf:

vm.swappiness=0
vm.dirty_writeback_centisecs=800
vm.dirty_ratio=30
vm.min_free_kbytes=2048
vm.laptop_mode=1

So please elaborate what is to be done. Thanks in advance, Pete.

Marc


More info will be found in V0.2.1, just preparing early :)
 

Samurai26

Member
Joined
May 1, 2010
Messages
330
Reaction score
0
I am not exactly sure what you want us to do here. I went into Root Explorer and found the following at sysctl.conf:

vm.swappiness=0
vm.dirty_writeback_centisecs=800
vm.dirty_ratio=30
vm.min_free_kbytes=2048
vm.laptop_mode=1

So please elaborate what is to be done. Thanks in advance, Pete.

Marc
+1, the refrences you suggested above are way above my head in terms of level of understanding
 

Hacim

New Member
Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
still rebooting

Thanks for the update.
I upped my clock to 250 and changed kernels and I'm still shutting down randomly. Its happened once in 30 minutes since I changed but ill continue testing.
 

actngrezy

Active Member
Developer
Joined
Mar 21, 2010
Messages
1,074
Reaction score
2
Location
delaware
So im guessing you did a little bit more for this version then just fix the reboot problem:) Always working. you are the man
 

peterpressure

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2009
Messages
247
Reaction score
0
I am not exactly sure what you want us to do here. I went into Root Explorer and found the following at sysctl.conf:

vm.swappiness=0
vm.dirty_writeback_centisecs=800
vm.dirty_ratio=30
vm.min_free_kbytes=2048
vm.laptop_mode=1

So please elaborate what is to be done. Thanks in advance, Pete.

Marc

I erased the "#" marks before each line, rebooted and am running fine with these tweaks!

Thanks Pete!
 
OP
P

peteralfonso

Premium Member
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
844
Reaction score
1
I am not exactly sure what you want us to do here. I went into Root Explorer and found the following at sysctl.conf:

vm.swappiness=0
vm.dirty_writeback_centisecs=800
vm.dirty_ratio=30
vm.min_free_kbytes=2048
vm.laptop_mode=1

So please elaborate what is to be done. Thanks in advance, Pete.

Marc

I erased the "#" marks before each line, rebooted and am running fine with these tweaks!

Thanks Pete!

No problem, you should see increased performance and battery life :)
 

Glueeater

Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2010
Messages
67
Reaction score
0
Just applied your settings…

Will let you know if I get random reboots…

edit: Your ROM also runs 10x smoother than stock FRF27 for me. Really appreciate you enhancing the experience.
 

hexdaemon

New Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2010
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
I entered su godmode and su sysrw in the terminal, but can't edit sysctl.conf in Astro. I can open them up in the file editor, but there is no way to save them. Am I doing something wrong?
 

droidand1

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
download root explorer, browse and hold click on the file and c)lick edit text editor :)
 

droidand1

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
pete, i know that you said that you are not supporting this,
but i downloaded this pdf reference files and it blew my
mind i could not comprehend.

if i may ask, what values should i put if i want background apps to NOT be closed so fast (for example, currently my podcasts or browser is killed if I open new foreground apps)
Thank you!
 
Top