How to create an intranet on Droid X

bestresearcher

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a newbie and hope this has not been asked before. I have transferred 20,000 html files (consisting of primarily text) to my Droid X. They are stored in a folder on my SD card. I can locate the folder. However, all of the file managers require that the entire folder be read before I can even dream of opening one of the files in that folder for viewing.

After an interminable wait, I see all of the 20,000 plus files but cannot get to the one I want to open which links to the other files. In other words, I have 20,000 files on my SD card that, effectively speaking, I can neither access nor view. This is a database of legal cases and statutes, etc. which I need for my work. I would love to be able to search for specific text as well but first things first.

If this problem cannot be solved, I am faced with two other undesirable situations. 1. I can
open an account on a cloud server and upload my files to it, which would probably permit me to access them by my Droid X the way that any web page on the Web can be accessed. The other solution is using a remote access type program to access my office or home computer to see the files. From previous experience with the latter option (using my office computer from my home computer), it is painfully slow. Since I have roughly 4 gigs of html data I want to access, I would prefer to avoid the (albeit minimal) expense of a subscription for use of a cloud.

Any advice which would permit me to quickly and efficiently access and view my html files on the Droid would be most appreciated. Free apps, if applicable, would be preferred, but I am getting desperate.

I have heard of an app called the Droid Explorer, which apparently requires that the Droid be rooted (unrooted?).

Essentially, what I seek to do is transfer what is akin to an intranet on my office and home computers on my Droid X. Please offer any advice.

Thanks to one and all.

Phil

droidman101