Home/Launcher

Mikejl

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
402
Reaction score
0
Location
Lake Forest, CA
Well I finished installing my 239 apps!!!

Now I reboot and I have the voice search FC again.
Thought 1.3.1 addressed this didnt it?

Thanks
You just reinstalled 239 apps from the market?!? :shocked:

You definitely need to get the donate version of Titanium Backup. You can do a batch backup and restore of all your user apps in no time flat.

After flashing a new ROM just go to the Market and install Titanium again and then do a batch restore of you user apps. I do it in two phases. The first one I restores just the apps and the second one restore the few apps that I want restored with the data.

It takes a few extra minutes to custom deselect or select apps, but still much faster than installing from the Market. Plus I have several apps I can't afford to lose the data I've entered.

Mike
 
OP
n0m0n

n0m0n

Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2009
Messages
885
Reaction score
0
Location
HERE
Well I finished installing my 239 apps!!!

Now I reboot and I have the voice search FC again.
Thought 1.3.1 addressed this didnt it?

Thanks
You just reinstalled 239 apps from the market?!? :shocked:

You definitely need to get the donate version of Titanium Backup. You can do a batch backup and restore of all your user apps in no time flat.

After flashing a new ROM just go to the Market and install Titanium again and then do a batch restore of you user apps. I do it in two phases. The first one I restores just the apps and the second one restore the few apps that I want restored with the data.

It takes a few extra minutes to custom deselect or select apps, but still much faster than installing from the Market. Plus I have several apps I can't afford to lose the data I've entered.

Mike

I have the donate version of titanium but every time iI do a mass install the system is sluggish and I have to re-install the rom and apps again.
 

Mikejl

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
402
Reaction score
0
Location
Lake Forest, CA
I have the donate version of titanium but every time iI do a mass install the system is sluggish and I have to re-install the rom and apps again.
Maybe we are selecting different batch backup and restore options. Here are the options I use.

For Backup:
BAUA.png
AS.png


For Restore:
RMAWD.png

AAA_D.png


Edit: Note in the 2nd backup screenshot, I never exclude active apps.

Mike
 
Last edited:
OP
n0m0n

n0m0n

Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2009
Messages
885
Reaction score
0
Location
HERE
I have the donate version of titanium but every time iI do a mass install the system is sluggish and I have to re-install the rom and apps again.
Maybe we are selecting different batch backup and restore options. Here are the options I use.

For Backup:
BAUA.png
AS.png


For Restore:
RMAWD.png

AAA_D.png


Edit: Note in the 2nd backup screenshot, I never exclude active apps.

Mike

Thanks I usually choose backup all new or newer app after the initial backup is done.
I do choose restore missing app's + data, but sometimes choose not to install the data on those that don't really have any amount of data input.

My problem is and this is what I think it is, with all the app's I am restoring it seems like its just to much for a new ly cleaned device to handle and at times it seems like it corrupts the ROM or device.
I get a lot of FC's sluggishness, and other none desired issues.

Thats why I go and try install via market place slowly.
My problem is that you have only 1 change to get your previously installed free app's to list in the market.
And you snooze you loose and when you awake the device only the paid app's are listed.
And the market is SO SO SLOW, to a point it crashs and I loose.
Maybe I am totally wrong here, I don't know.

Thanks
 

Mikejl

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
402
Reaction score
0
Location
Lake Forest, CA
I have the donate version of titanium but every time iI do a mass install the system is sluggish and I have to re-install the rom and apps again.
Maybe we are selecting different batch backup and restore options. Here are the options I use.

For Backup:
BAUA.png
AS.png


For Restore:
RMAWD.png

AAA_D.png


Edit: Note in the 2nd backup screenshot, I never exclude active apps.

Mike

Thanks I usually choose backup all new or newer app after the initial backup is done.
I do choose restore missing app's + data, but sometimes choose not to install the data on those that don't really have any amount of data input.

My problem is and this is what I think it is, with all the app's I am restoring it seems like its just to much for a new ly cleaned device to handle and at times it seems like it corrupts the ROM or device.
I get a lot of FC's sluggishness, and other none desired issues.

Thats why I go and try install via market place slowly.
My problem is that you have only 1 change to get your previously installed free app's to list in the market.
And you snooze you loose and when you awake the device only the paid app's are listed.
And the market is SO SO SLOW, to a point it crashs and I loose.
Maybe I am totally wrong here, I don't know.

Thanks
Maybe you could you try restoring only 50 of your "must have" apps and running like that for a week and see if that improves performance or not. It may be one or two rogue apps that are causing the FC's.

Mike
 
OP
n0m0n

n0m0n

Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2009
Messages
885
Reaction score
0
Location
HERE
Maybe you could you try restoring only 50 of your "must have" apps and running like that for a week and see if that improves performance or not. It may be one or two rogue apps that are causing the FC's.

Mike

I read this thread and what must ppl think?
I have reduced the # of app's down to 139 and will go from there.
Yet the problem with the market only giving one 1 shot at re-gaining the free app's be it 50 or 100 is till an issue.

And I don't know about you but when I restore or re-flash and then go into the market its so so slow.
And then I get a FC that the market must close.

That is more my main issue.

Thanks
 

Mikejl

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
402
Reaction score
0
Location
Lake Forest, CA
And I don't know about you but when I restore or re-flash and then go into the market its so so slow.
And then I get a FC that the market must close.

That is more my main issue.

Thanks
The Market is always slow for me until I get WiFi working after flashing a new ROM. On a new ROM I will get an FC that the Market must close 9 out of 10 times whether I'm reinstalling apps from the market or from a Titanium backup.

I don't worry about it because once I get my Droid all set up the way I like it, the FC's don't reoccur and everything runs smooth.

Mike
 

ViciousCircle

Android Addict
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2009
Messages
568
Reaction score
0
I actually backed up the market app via TB the last time it updated. That way I don't have to wait for it to update on its own to 1713. Also, n0m0n, you could use TB to slowly restore apps until you find the one causing the issue. You don't have to use the batch to restore them all at once. So, maybe use batch to restore a few that you 'need' right away. Then, in the list that TB gives, you can just click on an app and it'll ask if you want to install it, with or without data. And it'll restore your market link. That way, you always have the list of your free apps via TB.
 
OP
n0m0n

n0m0n

Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2009
Messages
885
Reaction score
0
Location
HERE
I actually backed up the market app via TB the last time it updated. That way I don't have to wait for it to update on its own to 1713. Also, n0m0n, you could use TB to slowly restore apps until you find the one causing the issue. You don't have to use the batch to restore them all at once. So, maybe use batch to restore a few that you 'need' right away. Then, in the list that TB gives, you can just click on an app and it'll ask if you want to install it, with or without data. And it'll restore your market link. That way, you always have the list of your free apps via TB.



Can I ask you how many app's you have on your device?
AGAIN my device is running sluggish and I fear that AGAIN I will have to wipe and re-load.
This device is more down then up and I cant remember the last time it was used as a phone!

Thanks
 
Top