Help with boot animation

OP
Wolfeman

Wolfeman

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
68
Reaction score
0
I place it in \data\local. I'm running BB v0.4.

Other boot animations work like that.
 

The Donut Pirate

New Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2010
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Do you have another boot animation in /system/media? If so, delete that one. If not, try moving your boot animation there.
 
OP
Wolfeman

Wolfeman

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
68
Reaction score
0
Ok nothing in \system\media and my bootanimation.zip in \data\local and still just a blank screen on boot :?

I tried nothing in \data\local and mine in \system\media and same result.
 

The Donut Pirate

New Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2010
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Follow these instructions (make sure that the bootanimation you want is on the root of your sdcard and that you have some sort of terminal emulator on your Droid):

su
mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
busybox cp -R /sdcard/bootanimation.zip /system/media/
chmod 644 /system/media/bootanimation.zip
mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
sync
 
Last edited:
OP
Wolfeman

Wolfeman

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
68
Reaction score
0
Still nothing. There has got to be something wrong with my .pngs or the desc.txt :/
 

ohioDroid

Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2010
Messages
308
Reaction score
0
The black screen comes up when the zip file is compressed.

I know that sounds like a 'duh' thing, but zip files don't necessarily have to be compressed.

Use a utility like Winzip or Winrar to create a zip file that has NO compression, and see if that works.
 
OP
Wolfeman

Wolfeman

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
68
Reaction score
0
The black screen comes up when the zip file is compressed.

I know that sounds like a 'duh' thing, but zip files don't necessarily have to be compressed.

Use a utility like Winzip or Winrar to create a zip file that has NO compression, and see if that works.
I used WINRAR and Store for compression.
 

ohioDroid

Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2010
Messages
308
Reaction score
0
The black screen comes up when the zip file is compressed.

I know that sounds like a 'duh' thing, but zip files don't necessarily have to be compressed.

Use a utility like Winzip or Winrar to create a zip file that has NO compression, and see if that works.
I used WINRAR and Store for compression.

Okay, nevermind that then...
 
OP
Wolfeman

Wolfeman

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
68
Reaction score
0
Dammit I just want my TARDIS boot animation :)

My files are all like this 480_427_00001.png is there a limit to how many files?
 
Top