Help! I was installing bugless beast, then this...

nhc931

New Member
Joined
May 16, 2010
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Okay so i just rooted my droid one and just tied to install bugless beast through rom manager and this happened....

view the file please

Its been there for a while. What does it mean,and where do i go from here?
 

Tallica

Premium Member
Premium Member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
3,259
Reaction score
1
Location
Middleboro, MA
That is the stock recovery, you need to flash a custom recovery before installing a ROM.

Flash CW through Rom Manager a bunch of times for it to take.
 
OP
N

nhc931

New Member
Joined
May 16, 2010
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Thank You! But as much as i'd like to be done, i really do not understand the second line of that.
 

JustisLewis

Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
274
Reaction score
0
Are you sure you're rooted? You have superuser and everything? If so, download rom manager from the market. It will allow you to flash a custom recovery which will allow you to flash a rom

Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
 
OP
N

nhc931

New Member
Joined
May 16, 2010
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
well yes i have super user, and I'm almost positive i'm rooted. I guess I don't understand how rom manager works. I downloaded the custom rom, and from there I guess I got lost...
 

mwhartman

Super Moderator/RS
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2010
Messages
10,635
Reaction score
12
Location
South FL
Open RM and tap the flash/install ClockWork recovery. Make sure you receive install successful. If so, proceed to download BB, make a backup, wipe data and cache. If not, try to reinstall CW. If you have issues scroll to the bottom of RM and tap Install Alternate recovery (SPRecovery) If that installs then try to install CW again.

Mike
 
OP
N

nhc931

New Member
Joined
May 16, 2010
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Open RM and tap the flash/install ClockWork recovery. Make sure you receive install successful. If so, proceed to download BB, make a backup, wipe data and cache. If not, try to reinstall CW. If you have issues scroll to the bottom of RM and tap Install Alternate recovery (SPRecovery) If that installs then try to install CW again.

Mike

Worked! At least it is booting into a different screen... It kept going to stock recovery mode until that. Thank you so much, I was getting pretty dang frustrated.
 

furbearingmammal

Super Moderator
Joined
Jun 16, 2010
Messages
11,081
Reaction score
365
Location
Anywhere you're not
Website
swdouglas.blogspot.com
Current Phone Model
32GB Moto X Developers Edition
Twitter
furryvarmint
The RRS (recovery replacement system) strikes again. Don't be surprised if you see that screen again. If you do, let me know, and I'll talk you through fixing it so you never have to worry about it again.
 

JustisLewis

Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
274
Reaction score
0
The RRS (recovery replacement system) strikes again. Don't be surprised if you see that screen again. If you do, let me know, and I'll talk you through fixing it so you never have to worry about it again.

I heard that was specifically a clockworkmod problem? Any truth to that or is it just another unfounded SPR v. Clockwork fanboy rumor?

Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
 

furbearingmammal

Super Moderator
Joined
Jun 16, 2010
Messages
11,081
Reaction score
365
Location
Anywhere you're not
Website
swdouglas.blogspot.com
Current Phone Model
32GB Moto X Developers Edition
Twitter
furryvarmint
I dislike CW (and yes, I've used it), but it's not a CW problem. It could be a ROM Manager flashing problem (it's legendary), and flashing SPRecovery fixes it so ROM Manager can push CW, but with FroYo came the RRS and a new bootloader and we have to turn the RRS off or we see this.

The way to tell is if you have NO recovery it's a flashing issue. If you see stock recovery it's RRS. No recovery is resolved fastest by flashing alternate recovery in RM. Stock recovery requires shutting the RRS down.
 
OP
N

nhc931

New Member
Joined
May 16, 2010
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Wll as far as i know the problem is fixed so thanks to everyone! Specifically mwhartman, his solution seemed to work perfectly for me.
 
Top