Help - Droid wont do update.zip

ralthoff

New Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Alright, so I have been rocking BB for a while, and when I went to update to .6 it wouldnt do it. I tried doing it via Clockwork Recovery and SPRecovery. In both it starts and goes for about a second and then aborts without telling me why. I checked the name of the file, I made sure I clicked the "Allow" button first, I wiped data and cache 3 times, and still it just aborts.

Can someone point me in a direction here?

Thanks!

-Reece
 

jcwilliams

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2010
Messages
1,392
Reaction score
3
Location
OH
weird um i know i had a problem with the name of the file. if its already update.zip take the .zip part off of it and try that. if not go to the option that says choose zip file and then go to the file your trying to do.
 

doublea500

Active Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2010
Messages
1,185
Reaction score
13
Try taking thefile out of a folder

Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
 
OP
R

ralthoff

New Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
its not in a folder, and i tried the option where i choose the file... very frustrating :-(
 

welterbf123

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2010
Messages
67
Reaction score
0
make sure it's not named 'update.zip.zip'. You may have to set Windows to show file extensions just to make sure.
 
OP
R

ralthoff

New Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
did that this morning... and it wasnt .zip.zip

this sucks, I want the new BB
 
OP
R

ralthoff

New Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Anyone have any ideas? Is there a way to do a full reset, as in make it like its right out of the box and nuke anything and absolutely everything that i put on there?
 

mkjellgren

Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
393
Reaction score
0
Location
MN
Sounds like a bad file to me. First thing id do would be to redownload 0.6.2 and try again.

Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
 
OP
R

ralthoff

New Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
I tried it with 3 different roms so far, same result.
 

mkjellgren

Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
393
Reaction score
0
Location
MN
Then you are most definitely doing something wrong. Wiping data and cache effectively is a factory reset ...stupid question but you are rooted right?

Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
 
OP
R

ralthoff

New Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Yes, my phone is rooted. I have done the update.zip procedure on this phone before without issues, and it seemed to stop working after I went to bb 0.4
 

smmfc

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2010
Messages
278
Reaction score
1
I had the same issue way back when I tried to go froyo from 2.1 I had to download 2.0 rooted image then install the zip for froyo maybe something corrupted in your system if you have a nandroid try flashing a rooted 2.2 image then go from there it takes some time since you have to use tue computor for it but irate work

Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
 

sn2hotty

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2010
Messages
80
Reaction score
0
I had a similar problem with .6.1. Installation aborted; tried it several times, then accidentally rebooted, when I forgot to hit the "x" button along with pwr at startup, and lo and behold, BB .6.1 was on my system. Everything seemed fine. Weird.

I installed .6.2 after wiping, and everything went smoothly (i.e., no "aborted installation").
 

smmfc

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2010
Messages
278
Reaction score
1
I installed 6.2 no wipe too and it runs great I still haven't even overclocked more than the 800mhz thats stock I just still have issues with recovery but I get it to work eventually lol

Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
 
Top