Having trouble with Windows 7 and flashing sbf files? Look Inside

adrynalyne

Premium Member
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Dec 21, 2009
Messages
2,896
Reaction score
6
I had posted this as a response on another forum, but I think it bears repeating as its the ONLY way I can get RSD Lite to work on my Windows 7 machine.



Set RSDLite to run as admin, then use a command console, either powershell or cmd.exe and run it from command line:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Motorola\RSD Lite\SDL.exe -f xxxx.sbf -t 2"

Where xxx.sbf includes the location and name of the sbf file.

For example, this is what I had to do to get it running under win7 64 bit.

1. Started up powershell.
2. changed directory to where SDL.exe is ("C:\Program Files (x86)\Motorola\RSD Lite\")
3. Renamed my sbf file to 21.sbf and placed it at the root of another partition (try different locations if one doesn't work, preferably at the root of the drive).
4. SDL.exe -f D:\21.sbf -t 2.
5. Let it finish flashing.
 

R1Lover

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
1,699
Reaction score
0
Location
Northern Ca
Thanks, I'm having trouble also... but will try the root of the drive portion...
 

firefalldown

New Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2010
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Did you try changing the file name?

Mine wouldn't flash until i changed the file name to something shorter like


201.sbf

Try that and see if it works everytime
 
G

gavron

Guest
What do you recommend for those of us who don't use Windows?
(Linux multiple flavors)

Ehud
 

Flomaster

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
1,072
Reaction score
0
Location
East Texas
I run Win7 Prox74 and can simply click RSD from my program menu and it opens up and I have flashed an SBF ONCE to change my boot image from the Motorola M to a "bad Robot" image
 

GU3RO

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Wont work for me

I have tried renaming the sbf file, moving it to root of both c and d drives, ran the cmd commands... Every single time I get a Fail for results. Im stuck on 2.1 and its getting a little irritating. :'(
 
G

gavron

Guest
"I get a Fail for results."

We can't help you without a good description of a long process nor error conditions.

It doesn't matter where the file is. Make sure it downloaded successfully, has the right length, and that RSDLITE can communicate with your phone.

Make sure you're running as Administrator.

Make sure RSDLITE picks up information from your phone.

Try without installing the Motorola drivers.

Try with.

Report your results.

E
 

GU3RO

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
"I get a Fail for results."

We can't help you without a good description of a long process nor error conditions.

It doesn't matter where the file is. Make sure it downloaded successfully, has the right length, and that RSDLITE can communicate with your phone.

Make sure you're running as Administrator.

Make sure RSDLITE picks up information from your phone.

Try without installing the Motorola drivers.

Try with.

Report your results.

E

Ok so I fig it'd skip the noob **** but here ya go...

I have tried this on 2 different pc's. Both vista, both 32 bit, both with and without drivers. I have tried placing the sbf files in different locations on both pc's. I have tried running rsd as admin, compatibility mode, and regular on both pcs. I have tried it with the 2.0.1 file and the 2.0 file as well. The phone looks to be recognized in rsd with no problem, and it can locate the file as well. But the second I click start it get results error. Also, when i click start, status changes from Connected... to "Failed flashing process. Failed flashing process. (0x7100); phone connected"

Anything I forgot??
~G
 

canvs2321

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
259
Reaction score
0
I had something similar to the guy who said he shortend the sbf file, when i ran rsd lite it took me awhile to figure it out because it would find my phone, i would load the sbf but the start button wasn't enabled. after fooling around I found that it only work with certain lengths of foldername/filename.sbf (ie. c:\sbf\21.sbf might not work but c:\sb\21.sbf or c:\sbf\1.sbf would work) it was like it had a hardcoded expected folder length or something. but once i figured out the right combination of letters it enabled my start button and i could flash successfully.
 

dwz07

New Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
i aslo had a weird experience with RSDlite.. had to use it on my sister's droid. the first time i ran it, it went through and did it's thing but at the end it told me to manually reboot phone and never gave me a "complete" status (waited about half an hour or better) so i finally unplugged the phone and all was good. the second time i had to run it, again it did it's thing but at the end it said "failed" yet the phone booted perfectly into stock with the hand poking the android and everything lol. her phones fine now and hasn't given her any more problems.. just my .02 though

p.s. i was running it on windows 7 x86, but just looked and "run as admin" wasn't checked...
 

ArchAngel

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2010
Messages
78
Reaction score
0
Location
california
same problem here installed the latest .net reinstalled rsd and moto drivers and the world is a beautiful place, flashed 1st time 100%
 
Top