Google Captcha/Word Challenge

tenui

Reaction score
First let me say that I'm fairly new to the Droid... its only been a couple of days but I like what I've seen so far. That is until today when out of the blue I got a weird "Google unable to authenticate" error...

I immediately jumped to the conclusion that my gmail/google account had been hacked. I checked the "IP Details" on a PC and didn't see any connections out of my area. To be sure, I changed the password and verified all of my recovery options. Nothing out of the ordinary there...

I am prompted/challenged with the following screen 5 times. It doesn't matter if I enter the words correctly or not. My question is, is this a normal google screen or is this some sort of phising attempt to get my password. After hitting done 5 times I eventually get to a google password prompt.

I've only download maybe less than 5 apps from the market place and all were highly rated fairly common apps i.e. bubble level, bar code scanner, etc.

I'm amazed at the amount of google integration but I can not afford to have my google account hacked/stolen.

I know I am being a bit paranoid but I just don't have the confidence that this is a 'google' dialog and haven't been able to find any other documentation/screen shots on the web of this screen.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated!

Regards,

-j

mwhartman

Super Moderator/RS
Premium Member
Reaction score
Moving to the X general discussion section.

Mike

OP
T

tenui

Reaction score
My bad...

Sorry for not seeing the "X" specific forum... (We are Penn State!)

Technoman

Reaction score
I do not recall if I got that dialog after the 2.2 upgrade or not. I do recall having to re-do all my sign on stuff either right after or shortly after the upgrade.

I am not sure there would be a reason to doubt it being authentic.

OP
T

tenui

Reaction score