froyo bootanimation

dakoop

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2009
Messages
419
Reaction score
0
I have been using root explorer to cut and paste bootanimations into the system/media folder. For some reason on all of my froyo roms I have tried this on when I paste the new animation into that folder I get the standard android animation.

What am I doing wrong?
 

petman

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2009
Messages
31
Reaction score
0
you need a root explorer... put bootanimation.zip on SD card... then copy and go back a screen to data/local..... put it in there. Done/reboot... I have been saving all my boot animations to seperate folders in tmp folder and change them when i want... it may say overwright...do so... maybe like me keep all of thm seperate somewhere
 

Techenigma

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
62
Reaction score
0
Location
Ventura County, CA
If it is indeed a boot animation those need to be named bootanimation.zip and placed in /data/local in order to be loaded. You can only load one at a time.

Its easiest if you're using adb shell to just

Code:
adb push bootanimation.zip /data/local

of course if you have adb properly set up then the bootnaimation.zip would need to be in your adb/tools folder
 
OP
dakoop

dakoop

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2009
Messages
419
Reaction score
0
If I put it in data/local all I get is the word droid?
 
OP
dakoop

dakoop

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2009
Messages
419
Reaction score
0
System media is where I started this
 

928Droid

Premium Member
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
Nov 24, 2009
Messages
3,742
Reaction score
0
Location
Western North Carolina Mountains
Website
www.928gt.com
System media is where I started this

Here are the steps I did..

Copy Droid X Bootanimation.zip to SDcard

Using Root Explorer, I copied DroidX bootanimation.zip...

navigated to system/media....

renamed existing bootanimation.zip to bootanimation.zip2...

pasted DroidX Bootanimation.zip (same folder, system/media)....

set permissiomns (644)...

rebooted and watched the cool Droid X animation.
 
OP
dakoop

dakoop

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2009
Messages
419
Reaction score
0
What are you setting as far as permissions
 
Top