Flashing a ROM on a Droid 1 - Best Practices

guidot

Developer Relations
Staff member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Guide to SPRecovery

All,

This is my first attempt at writing a guide so helping me out with links and such will be helpful too.

MotoCache1 created a great guide on rooting a D1 running 2.2, however after I was done doing that I had to do more experimenting. I read so much on flashing, and whether to use ROM Manager or stick with SPRecovery, etc.

This guide will take over after the above rooting method has taken place. MotoCache1's method will leave you stock with SU, and BusyBox. These are the basics to having 'root' access. From here you should create a Nandroid backup in SPRecovery if you didn't after running the guide. This will give you a base to return to if something happens with your next ROM installation.

Steps:
1. Power off your Droid.
2. Slide open the keyboard.
3. Hold the 'x' key down, then press the power key as you normally would to turn the device on.
4. Continue holding the 'x' key until you are booted into SPRecovery.
5. Slide the keyboard closed.
6. Once there, using the volume key to move the selector up and down, select 'Backup/Restore'
7. Select 'create simple nandroid backup' This will create a backup marked with the date for easy restoration.
8. The progress bar will show up and complete in a minute or 2.
9. Once it says complete you can then press the power button to return to the main menu.
10. You can select 'reboot now'

Now you are back the home screen. Once you have decided on your ROM, download it (either using the PC or over WiFi on your Droid), and place it in the root of your SDcard and rename it update.zip. You can use a program on your Droid, such as Astro, or ES Explorer, or use your PC via USB cable. This is the same place you placed your update.zip using the MotoCache1 method. You will have to erase or rename the other update.zip.