First Time Droid User

Reaction score
Ive been using a Blackberry on ATT's network for the last 2 years. I didnt have a data package and only used it for phone calls and texting. Needless to say Ive made the jump to Verizon and the HTC Incredible.

Being a first time Droid user Im not familiar with it. Looking for suggestions on applications.

The first thing Im looking for is a voice activated GPS. I have Google Maps, but dont see an option for voice activation.

Second thing is a browser. Im used to Firefox on all 3 of my laptops.

Third is an antivirus (Is it even necessary)?

4th Im looking for something that will allow me to see files I download from Drop Box. I dont even know where the default download location is to.

mwhartman

Super Moderator/RS
Premium Member
Reaction score
Ive been using a Blackberry on ATT's network for the last 2 years. I didnt have a data package and only used it for phone calls and texting. Needless to say Ive made the jump to Verizon and the HTC Incredible.

Being a first time Droid user Im not familiar with it. Looking for suggestions on applications.

The first thing Im looking for is a voice activated GPS. I have Google Maps, but dont see an option for voice activation.

The Navigation app and the voice search will accomplish this. Additionally, the voice will sent email, text, search, get directions. Very powerful tool.

Second thing is a browser. Im used to Firefox on all 3 of my laptops.

The stock browser s fine. Check the Market for Dolphin or Opera.

Third is an antivirus (Is it even necessary)?

You do not need AV or task killers

4th Im looking for something that will allow me to see files I download from Drop Box. I dont even know where the default download location is to.

Check your settings. Typically, items that you download are stored in the download folder on your SD card. You can view the SD card by mounting/connecting you phone and computer or download an file manager app such as Astro (free in the market)