Droid ---- how to root (((2.0)))

Getaphixx

Reaction score
Should be reserved for HOW TO ((((Rooting)))) the droid...

I know everyone is too anxious to recieve and reciprocate!

Let us watch with bright eyes and bushy tails!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D

OP
Getaphixx

Getaphixx

Reaction score
[video=youtube;C2jDOkzrVew]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C2jDOkzrVew&feature=player_embedded]YouTube - Economist "Did you know?"[/video]

WATCH CAREFULLY!!!!!!!!!!

NO DOUBT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

MotoDroid

Reaction score
Can't wait until morning!! Need.....Droid....please! Anyway, I'm new to the android OS scene but technology is what I do for a living so I'm sure I'll catch up on it. Rooting??? Does that mean getting admin access at the command prompt of the OS? Sorry but I'm a newb at it.

Trip

Reaction score
Yeah MotoDroid, Rooting basically (as I understand it, haven't done it yet, and probably won't) gives you super user privelages so you can turn things on and off and modify things you wouldn't usually have access to.

MotoDroid

Reaction score
Thanks, Trip! I take it that other Android devices can be and have been rooted then. What are some advantages to this? Is it comparable to "jailbreaking" on a crapple iPhone?

TarzanMan

Reaction score
The primary purpose for rooting a phone is to have access to features that are supposed to be blocked or obfuscated (like tethering).

The reason most people root on Android is so they can run custom programs like themes or OS updates that haven't been officially released.... or even operating systems for other android devices.

It is similar to jailbreaking, except that jailbreaking is usually done specifically to break the SIM carrier lock, or to pilfer paid apps from the app store. Getting root on Android won't do either of those things for you.

MotoDroid

Reaction score