Droid + Google Voice Voicemail

JP 5.56

Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
592
Reaction score
10
Hello,

Sorry if this has been answered before/trouble finding an answer for this.

Is there a way to set the default voicemail button, or long press on 1 in phone mode to call google voicemail instead of VZW voicemail.

I have it set up so that Google voice is my mail service on the phone. It works when someone calls my number (vzw or voice number) - they go directly to GV mail - is it supposed to change those buttons too or not?
 

JCo352

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2010
Messages
1,825
Reaction score
0
Location
Texas
i was wondering this too but i just got Google Voice app, a solution in my mind
 

Fraxinus

Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2009
Messages
141
Reaction score
0
Location
New Haven, CT
From the home screen: Menu --> Settings --> Call Settings --> Voicemail service - set to Google Voice instead of Carrier. You should then be prompted to configure some settings and be up and running with GV tied to your voicemail key in the dialer app.
 
OP
JP 5.56

JP 5.56

Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
592
Reaction score
10
From the home screen: Menu --> Settings --> Call Settings --> Voicemail service - set to Google Voice instead of Carrier. You should then be prompted to configure some settings and be up and running with GV tied to your voicemail key in the dialer app.

Thanks, I actually did all that (I thought). I just did it again and it did the trick.

Is not that big of a deal as when a vm comes in from it, as I can get it quickly from the GV app notification. But one less direct dial icon - Less clutter is good!
 
OP
JP 5.56

JP 5.56

Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
592
Reaction score
10
Now, how about the "Ask when dialing" option. On the settings screen that allows you to choose when to use your google number for outgoing calls, I've got it set to ask me when dialing.

I've dialed and had it ask. Now it does not seem to work any more?
 

Fraxinus

Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2009
Messages
141
Reaction score
0
Location
New Haven, CT
hoo boy...I'm not sure about that one...I was just checking on my phone (though I didn't actually make any calls). When you set GV to prompt for every call it pulls up the option to use GV or your standard number. I did not see a checkbox for "use this action by default" which would make me think you really would have to choose every time. The only thing I can think is that it's remembering a number you dialed with GV in the past and applying that selection automatically...Otherwise I guess you're seeing a bug maybe?
 
OP
JP 5.56

JP 5.56

Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
592
Reaction score
10
I think I may have figured it out.

It seems as if I dial a number in 7 digit format, it dials using my VZW number.

If the contact, or the number I dial is in 10 digit, then it gives the prompt to select VZW or GV number.
 

Fraxinus

Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2009
Messages
141
Reaction score
0
Location
New Haven, CT
ahh, I guess that makes sense. Even though your GV number has a specific area code it's sort of area code agnostic, so it makes sense that it wouldn't be smart enough to know what area code you want to place the call to.
 

Jamey Pennington

New Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2010
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Now, how about the "Ask when dialing" option. On the settings screen that allows you to choose when to use your google number for outgoing calls, I've got it set to ask me when dialing.

I've dialed and had it ask. Now it does not seem to work any more?

OK. I'm struggling to find the "Ask when dialing" option.
 
OP
JP 5.56

JP 5.56

Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
592
Reaction score
10
Its in the Google Voice app. Go into settings. its under General: Making Calls.
 
Top