Confirmed: clockwork works on my droid 3.

stabl4life82

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2010
Messages
719
Reaction score
0
Location
south carolina
I have clockwork up and running on my phone and successfully created a backup. Ready for roms now. :)

Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2011
Messages
451
Reaction score
0
We still need an sfb file. Im not even going to consider any rom that comes out without having the sfb file to use. Yes I know that we have a way to fix a bricked d3 but I don't wont to ever have a bricked d3.

Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
 

rwking

Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
214
Reaction score
1
So, will clockwork for D3 also work on Bionic? Im hearing mixed reviews - people scared to try and people who "think" it will work.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
 
OP
stabl4life82

stabl4life82

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2010
Messages
719
Reaction score
0
Location
south carolina
There wouldn't be a point in even trying it cause if I am thinking correctly, the bionic already has this and it came out prior to the droid 3

Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
 
OP
stabl4life82

stabl4life82

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2010
Messages
719
Reaction score
0
Location
south carolina
I have already bricked my phone like 4 days ago and I got it back to stock in no time with the files they have provided

Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
 

neilrl79

Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2010
Messages
479
Reaction score
1
Location
Cecil County MD
We still need an sfb file. Im not even going to consider any rom that comes out without having the sfb file to use. Yes I know that we have a way to fix a bricked d3 but I don't wont to ever have a bricked d3.

Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums

my understanding is that the .xml files we have are the new "sbf"


oh and cwr works great on the DROID3.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 9, 2011
Messages
451
Reaction score
0
You might be right but everything that I've read says its only for bricked phones. What if mine is not bricked can I still do it. I know that's a stupid thing to do anyway because why would I. But I've read a little more about it and it seems to be what will fix any issue that might happen. But why is it not called the sfb if it does the same thing.

Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
 

neilrl79

Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2010
Messages
479
Reaction score
1
Location
Cecil County MD
You might be right but everything that I've read says its only for bricked phones. What if mine is not bricked can I still do it. I know that's a stupid thing to do anyway because why would I. But I've read a little more about it and it seems to be what will fix any issue that might happen. But why is it not called the sfb if it does the same thing.

Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums

To answer your last question .sbf is the file extension that was used, now they are using the file extension .xml, that is how I understand it anyway.
 

acoers

Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
239
Reaction score
0
Location
Illinois
Ok so I downloaded the file or app bootstrap recovery. So if I turn my phone off and turn it back on holding m and the power button it just goes in recovery mode right? Or is that when it backsup your phone?
 

Tillyswilly

Active Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2010
Messages
1,060
Reaction score
0
Location
Bham
hold the M while you hit the power button from a power off state then go down (using the volume down to scroll vol up to select) to bp tool that will take you into CWM it took mine about 2min to go into it so be patient and thats where you will make you backups and flash the ROMs (when they become available)...but the #1 way to brick a phone is to mess around with CWM without knowing what everything does so be comfortable with it b4 using it...also while your in CWM scroll with vol up and down and select with the power button
 

acoers

Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
239
Reaction score
0
Location
Illinois
So I go into bp tool and that's where I go to backup my phone that way if I mess something. Up it can go go back to that stage?
 

dtdlurch

Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2010
Messages
180
Reaction score
0
Location
Kennesaw, GA
Phew. No problems loading it up here! Was a little worried. Got my phone backed up now and I'm ready to roll!
 

Warglock

Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2011
Messages
58
Reaction score
0
Does anyone have a stock backup to recover to? I know there are a lot of people who are still having issues with Contacts FCing whenever you try to open or edit a contact(myself included) and with that in tow I think many people will be able to restore that functionality.

Or if I am totally wrong and this is not how CWM recovery works?
 

tcrews

Premium Member
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
1,353
Reaction score
22
Location
Lexington, SC
Website
android.snkbitten.com
Does anyone have a stock backup to recover to? I know there are a lot of people who are still having issues with Contacts FCing whenever you try to open or edit a contact(myself included) and with that in tow I think many people will be able to restore that functionality.

Or if I am totally wrong and this is not how CWM recovery works?

CWM recovery is for "your" phone. Backups and Restores for you. It's really not a good tool for repairing a phone (like installing a backup made from another persons phone).

There are already recovery threads posted about for using RSDlite or Flashboot to recover your device. Using the .xml file through RSDLite or manually flashing the .img files with flashboot.

And currently no way to go back to 5.959 from 6.890....though you really just need to "recover" your update so just use the 6.890 .sbf.
 

acoers

Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
239
Reaction score
0
Location
Illinois
Ok i went through and i backedup my phone. But while doing it, it says no sd-ext found or skip requested.Skipping backup of sd-ext. Is that a good thing or not?
 
Top