Can you be more specific? Are the items from calendars you've "subscribed" to or from your own calendar. Are the events in the past or the future? I may be mistaken, but I believe that only a portion of your calendar (on google) is downloaded to your phone. If so, it means that items you deleted from the Google calendar would not be deleted from the phone if they're outside the "synch" window.