can't boot into recovery (clockwork)

ucpro

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2009
Messages
434
Reaction score
0
Location
dothan, al
so i flashed the new clockwork with rom manager. i downloaded a new rom and that was the last time the recovery worked. after i set everything up on the new rom (ud froyo), i went back to rom manager to install a kernel, it was from the last name in the list in rom manager...it wasn't a regular name, it was like sdfjh or something. i downloaded the kernel, rebooted to recovery, and it stays stuck at the m logo.

after spending about 20 mins looking at a program called rsdlite to flash sprecovery so i could flash a new rom, the phone finally booted before i was about to flash it. at this point i figure it was that weird kernel that i installed, so i went back to rom manager, reboot into recovery so that i could install a p3 kernel, once again i'm stuck at the m logo

i have, or had, the newest clockwork recovery which is 2. something, and i flashed it about 4 times before i rebooted but im still stuck even after pulling the battery for a couple minutes and holding the x key when i boot it back up
 

titans

Premium Member
Premium Member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
2,645
Reaction score
0
Reflash an older version of recovery.
 
OP
U

ucpro

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2009
Messages
434
Reaction score
0
Location
dothan, al
i'm stuck at the m, i can't do anything even after pulling the battery and holding the x
 

LVGDroidFan

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
30
Reaction score
0
Yeah, the last several clockwork updates have been broken. Go back to 1.8.1.4 (at the bottom of the page on Rom Manager). Flash it twice to be sure and you should be OK. The last update doesn't work for me either.

If this doesn't work, flash SPRecovery, boot into recovery, then reboot and flash the older clockwork version again. I've had to do this once. Should work.
 

titans

Premium Member
Premium Member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
2,645
Reaction score
0
I never did it but see if you can manually flash SPRecovery. If you cannot, then RSD Lite.
 

zerosouls

Soulless Droid
Premium Member
Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
1,100
Reaction score
0
Location
Menzoberranzan
Website
gplus.to
dude, clockword is going way crazy experimental on his recovery lately... there's like 1 update a day now... I wonder what the ef he is doing... his forums give me nothing.
 
OP
U

ucpro

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2009
Messages
434
Reaction score
0
Location
dothan, al
the problem is that i can't do anything with any recovery, whenever i get the phone back up i'll flash the older clockwork, but i'll give this another 15 mins or so, and a couple battery pulls before i try to do the rsd lite...although i'm still not 100% sure on how to use..so far i have rsd lite and an sprecovery sbf..now i'm guessing i go into boot mode, then flash with the rsd lite using the sprecovery??
 
OP
U

ucpro

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2009
Messages
434
Reaction score
0
Location
dothan, al
dude, clockword is going way crazy experimental on his recovery lately... there's like 1 update a day now... I wonder what the ef he is doing... his forums give me nothing.

yea it's frustrating, every other day i bring up rom manager, it keeps showing a new clockworkmod availabale..all i can say is..."again?!?!"

do you even see a difference when u go into recovery??
 
OP
U

ucpro

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2009
Messages
434
Reaction score
0
Location
dothan, al
Yeah, the last several clockwork updates have been broken. Go back to 1.8.1.4 (at the bottom of the page on Rom Manager). Flash it twice to be sure and you should be OK. The last update doesn't work for me either.

If this doesn't work, flash SPRecovery, boot into recovery, then reboot and flash the older clockwork version again. I've had to do this once. Should work.

ok i'm back up, i'm about to downgrade to this one and see what happens
 

zerosouls

Soulless Droid
Premium Member
Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
1,100
Reaction score
0
Location
Menzoberranzan
Website
gplus.to
dude, clockword is going way crazy experimental on his recovery lately... there's like 1 update a day now... I wonder what the ef he is doing... his forums give me nothing.

yea it's frustrating, every other day i bring up rom manager, it keeps showing a new clockworkmod availabale..all i can say is..."again?!?!"

do you even see a difference when u go into recovery??

haven't tired recovery for nandroid backups yet (only do it from rom manager)... luckily i complain to clocklwordmod forums and they deliver very soon lol.... i might be the fault of some of the upgrades ROFL
:icon_ banana:
 
OP
U

ucpro

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2009
Messages
434
Reaction score
0
Location
dothan, al
awesome it worked..i'll be sticking with 1.8.1.4 for a while. so since i never used rsd lite, when would be the right the time to use it. would i only need it if recovery never would have came back??
 
OP
U

ucpro

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2009
Messages
434
Reaction score
0
Location
dothan, al
dude, clockword is going way crazy experimental on his recovery lately... there's like 1 update a day now... I wonder what the ef he is doing... his forums give me nothing.

yea it's frustrating, every other day i bring up rom manager, it keeps showing a new clockworkmod availabale..all i can say is..."again?!?!"

do you even see a difference when u go into recovery??

haven't tired recovery for nandroid backups yet (only do it from rom manager)... luckily i complain to clocklwordmod forums and they deliver very soon lol.... i might be the fault of some of the upgrades ROFL
:icon_ banana:

damn you're the culprit lol..
 

zerosouls

Soulless Droid
Premium Member
Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
1,100
Reaction score
0
Location
Menzoberranzan
Website
gplus.to
damn you're the culprit lol..

Weird you said that, the moment i complained on clockworkmod forums, like a few hours later, AN UPDATE WOW.... lol.... it works for kangerade now lol

i tried that kangerade but it was slow for me, plus it didn't even reinstall all my apps like the other roms have

did you reflash whatever recovery you wanted and then wipe 3 times before you installed?
 
Top