Camera Question

Sixonefour

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
211
Reaction score
0
Location
Ohio
Is there any way to tie Camera360 to the camera button (actual hardware button) so it launches instead of the stock camera app? I would much rather the button launch Camera360 instead of having to use the app icon to access the camera every time. Any help is appreciated!
 

rck76

Super Moderator
Premium Member
Joined
May 7, 2011
Messages
6,791
Reaction score
38
There is an app that will remap your buttons but I'm not sure what it's called. If you find out what that app is, try freezing your stock camera app, reboot, then use that app to map it to the camera app that you want to use. I'm not sure if it would work but it's worth a shot.

Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
 
OP
Sixonefour

Sixonefour

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
211
Reaction score
0
Location
Ohio
There is an app that will remap your buttons but I'm not sure what it's called. If you find out what that app is, try freezing your stock camera app, reboot, then use that app to map it to the camera app that you want to use. I'm not sure if it would work but it's worth a shot.

Sent from my Droid using DroidForums

I'll dig around for it, thanks for the info!
 

rck76

Super Moderator
Premium Member
Joined
May 7, 2011
Messages
6,791
Reaction score
38
No problem. I hope it works for ya. Good luck! :)

Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
 
OP
Sixonefour

Sixonefour

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
211
Reaction score
0
Location
Ohio
No problem. I hope it works for ya. Good luck! :)

Sent from my Droid using DroidForums

I have a question for you.. If I take the camera.apk, rename is camera.apk.bak, rename the Camera306 apk to camera.apk and place it into /system/app will it work or is there specific code that maps the applications to the hardware?
 

rck76

Super Moderator
Premium Member
Joined
May 7, 2011
Messages
6,791
Reaction score
38
I have a question for you.. If I take the camera.apk, rename is camera.apk.bak, rename the Camera306 apk to camera.apk and place it into /system/app will it work or is there specific code that maps the applications to the hardware?
I'm not sure, you can try. If it doesn't work, you can just take the bak file extension back off and reboot and you should have your camera app back.


Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
 
OP
Sixonefour

Sixonefour

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
211
Reaction score
0
Location
Ohio
I'm not sure, you can try. If it doesn't work, you can just take the bak file extension back off and reboot and you should have your camera app back.


Sent from my Droid using DroidForums

No good. I get the vibrate feedback but nothing launches or initializes. Worth a shot I suppose..
 

rck76

Super Moderator
Premium Member
Joined
May 7, 2011
Messages
6,791
Reaction score
38
Button remapper might be the app. It's not in the market but if you Google it, different places have it. I'm not sure how up to date the app is though as alot of results were from almost a year ago.

Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
 
Top