Bugless 6.x.x Overclock | Select Own Voltage/Slots

prime

Kernel Developer
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
1,940
Reaction score
71
Location
Florida
Website
github.com
Please visit the following droidforums link to better understand what this and why you want to use it.

Basically it allows you to overclock/undervolt the current Bugless Beast kernel, no need to flash/re-flash one kernel after another to find that sweet spot. You can change the slot and vsel values to suit your device (anywhere from 100mhz to 1300mhz).

(Milestone Overclock Tutorial)


Please read the script as it contains all details.

You need to first download and install Milestone Overclock that I modified:

*Current Release*
(MilestoneOverclock 1.4.7 prime_bugless)

Next save the script below as 05overclock or download zip from link, then unzip and execute script in a terminal as superuser (root).

Code:
#!/system/bin/sh
# overclock bugless beast 0.6.x.x by prime
#
# Simple script that loads the modified overclock module 
# and inserts proper values needed for the module to function
# please adjust vsel and speeds to suit your device. The script
# can sleep for 60 seconds before running, if you have any problems
# with the script not being ran upon boot uncomment the sleep line.
#
# You can run this manually by terminal with (su then sh 05overclock).
# 
# Read the forum thread to know where to place this 05overclock
# file for autostart as this can be unsafe if your vsel values are too high/low.
#
# Milestone Overclock Tutorial Thread: http://bit.ly/hEfz7P
#
# You can usually talk with me on twitter if you have a question.
# 
# prime ( @f1vefour )
#
#(begin overclock script)

MODDIR=/data/data/pt.com.darksun.milestoneoverclock/files/
MODULE=overclock.ko

cd $MODDIR
insmod $MODULE

echo 0xc003e094 > /proc/overclock/omap2_clk_init_cpufreq_table_addr
echo 0xc053e544 > /proc/overclock/cpufreq_stats_table_addr
echo 0xc054a8e4 > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps_addr

echo "6 200000" > /proc/overclock/freq_table
echo "1 200000000 29" > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps

echo "5 350000" > /proc/overclock/freq_table
echo "2 350000000 34" > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps

echo "4 450000" > /proc/overclock/freq_table
echo "3 450000000 39" > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps

echo "3 600000" > /proc/overclock/freq_table
echo "4 600000000 45" > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps

echo "2 700000" > /proc/overclock/freq_table
echo "5 700000000 55" > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps

echo "1 800000" > /proc/overclock/freq_table
echo "6 800000000 60" > /proc/overclock/mpu_opps

echo "65" > /proc/overclock/max_vsel
echo "900000" > /proc/overclock/max_rate
#(end overclock script)

Here is the script:
(05overclock.zip.)

If you previously changed kernels you can find the slayher 800mhz kernel bugless beast is using here:
(Slayher v1.6 800mhz Kernel)

I guess now is as good of a time as any to mention that if you are using the stock Slayher kernel (not the modified one included in BB) then you might need to also install the wifi fix that's also on the same page. Otherwise the phone might reboot when turning wiring tethering off. This might save some people some time as I was thinking I was on too low a voltage for a while before I remembered to flash the fix.

Here is the fix HarvesterX is referring to (only use this if having mentioned issue): (slayher wifi fix).
 

J*Bishop

Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2010
Messages
532
Reaction score
0
ok in laymans terms. what does this do? i'm pretty lazy to read all that in the link you posted.
 
OP
prime

prime

Kernel Developer
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
1,940
Reaction score
71
Location
Florida
Website
github.com
You can lower the voltage of the stock bugless 0.6.x kernel (increase battery life while lowering heat), or overclock it above 800mhz on the fly through scripting.

Basically it allows the kernel to behave as if it was custom made for your particular device once you find the lowest stable voltage per cpu slot.

---------------------
fivefour on xda
@f1vefour on twitter
 

HarvesterX™

Member
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
557
Reaction score
9
Location
Virginia, USA
Prime, thanks for compiling this. I was just reading up on what I needed to change in order to do just this. I have to admit though, I am really digging the kernel jamezelle just built with the smartass governor.
 
OP
prime

prime

Kernel Developer
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
1,940
Reaction score
71
Location
Florida
Website
github.com
I need some feedback to make certain this is working for others.

This is for Droid 1 users running bugless beast 0.6.x.

Could someone install the bugless MSOC (Milestone Overclock), select load module, change the speed to 1000 or so and hit apply. This is enough for me to know MSOC is functional for everyone.
---------------------
fivefour on xda
@f1vefour on twitter
 
OP
prime

prime

Kernel Developer
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
1,940
Reaction score
71
Location
Florida
Website
github.com
Prime, thanks for compiling this. I was just reading up on what I needed to change in order to do just this. I have to admit though, I am really digging the kernel jamezelle just built with the smartass governor.

You would need to be running the stock bugless|slayher kernel.

---------------------
fivefour on xda
@f1vefour on twitter
 

digriz60

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Tried running the script and received the error: insmod: init_module 'overclock.ko' failed (File exists)
 

thepolishguy

Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2010
Messages
105
Reaction score
0
I just got my D1 (have a DX) and was reading up on this. I was actually going to install the CM kernal and CMmilestone.apk so I could do this.

The milestone overclock project was the only way to OC the DX. Only problem I am having now is that I flashed a chevy kernel (very good btw) so I need to find the original BB kernel. maybe you could link to it in the op. I will test if/when I can find the kernel.

thanks.
 

HarvesterX™

Member
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
557
Reaction score
9
Location
Virginia, USA
I'll test it out some for ya. Isn't the stock kernel for BB a 800MHz v1.6 Slayher kernel? That would he easier than flashing the ROM again since I have a bunch I've made in /system. That's why I liked flashing Nandroids back in the day. I could just restore the boot partiton. Guess I could strip it out of the ROM as well.
I have to take.my finance to the hospital today at 1:30 so that should give me.some time to play while I wait.
 

digriz60

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Ok, I see what I did wrong, I had loaded the module within Milestone. It looks like it's working with my Droid 1. I ran the script successfully and set it to 1000MHz. So far so good!
 
OP
prime

prime

Kernel Developer
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
1,940
Reaction score
71
Location
Florida
Website
github.com
I'll test it out some for ya. Isn't the stock kernel for BB a 800MHz v1.6 Slayher kernel? That would he easier than flashing the ROM again since I have a bunch I've made in /system. That's why I liked flashing Nandroids back in the day. I could just restore the boot partiton. Guess I could strip it out of the ROM as well.
I have to take.my finance to the hospital today at 1:30 so that should give me.some time to play while I wait.

I am unsure if Pete used that particular kernel or compiled his own from a slayher git...it should work with the 1.6 slayher.

---------------------
fivefour on xda
@f1vefour on twitter
 

HarvesterX™

Member
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
557
Reaction score
9
Location
Virginia, USA
Awesome. I'll try that firt and if it doesn't work I'll just open up the zip on the laptopand delete everything in there but the kernel and kernel files.
 
OP
prime

prime

Kernel Developer
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
1,940
Reaction score
71
Location
Florida
Website
github.com
Awesome. I'll try that firt and if it doesn't work I'll just open up the zip on the laptopand delete everything in there but the kernel and kernel files.

Let me know if the 1.6 slayher works and I will update the OP to include a link.

---------------------
fivefour on xda
@f1vefour on twitter
 

thefever

Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2010
Messages
43
Reaction score
0
I'm not quite following... where does the 05overclock file need to be? system/bin?
 
OP
prime

prime

Kernel Developer
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
1,940
Reaction score
71
Location
Florida
Website
github.com
I'm not quite following... where does the 05overclock file need to be? system/bin?

Once you know what speeds/slots work for your device the script needs to be placed in /system/etc/init.d and it will be ran automatically upon boot.

Code:
su
sys -rw
cp /path/to/05overclock /system/etc/init.d
sys -ro

Reboot and check SetCPU for confirmation, you may need to move the cpu speed slider for the slots to be known to SetCPU.

---------------------
fivefour on xda
@f1vefour on twitter
 
Top