Boot Loop - Please Help

BoilerUp

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Over the weekend my phone got stuck at the M logo. I finally got it to recover, had to pull battery for phone to boot up and then flashed oldest clockwork recovery available. Tonight I restarted my phone and it gets stuck at the droid red eye or whatever that is. I can't get anywhere. I did notice befor reboot that I had 60% battery left. will try co-workers battery tomorrow and see what i get. otherwise I am at a loss. the pulled battery trick with the charger cable plugged in did not work so now what?

moto droid, bb froyo (forget version, can't access phone) nextheme, titanium backup, clockwork mod
 
OP
B

BoilerUp

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
I have tons of backups, just can't get to recovery. when i hold in the x key it does nothing. it makes me think my version of clockwork recovery may be bad or something
 
OP
B

BoilerUp

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Does my phone have to boot up though in order to do that? It will not even boot up. I have had it plugged in for the past hour and it is still at the red droid eye. I remember doing the rsdliste when I rooted originally, but i thought I have to get into one of the recovery screens
 

mgrover1

Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
64
Reaction score
0
Location
scottsdale, AZ
hold the phone with the keyboard slid out and hold up and the dpad while holding powe

hold the phone with the keyboard slid out and hold up and the dpad while holding power button and then tell me what comes up
 

huskur

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,866
Reaction score
36
Location
Lower Delaware
hold the phone with the keyboard slid out and hold up and the dpad while holding power button and then tell me what comes up
Turn your phone off. Then hold up on the d-pad while it is booting. (sorry, know what you were saying but it was a little confusing) this gets you into bootloader mode. From here you will have to use rsdlite again and reflash.

(just my opinion----- stay away from clockwork recovery)

with sprecovery you could still get to your recovery from the point you are at. With clockwork you actually have to fully boot
 

mgrover1

Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
64
Reaction score
0
Location
scottsdale, AZ
hold the phone with the keyboard slid out and hold up and the dpad while holding power button and then tell me what comes up
Turn your phone off. Then hold up on the d-pad while it is booting. (sorry, know what you were saying but it was a little confusing) this gets you into bootloader mode. From here you will have to use rsdlite again and reflash.

(just my opinion----- stay away from clockwork recovery)

with sprecovery you could still get to your recovery from the point you are at. With clockwork you actually have to fully boot

thanks for helpin me out
 
OP
B

BoilerUp

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
hold the phone with the keyboard slid out and hold up and the dpad while holding power button and then tell me what comes up
Turn your phone off. Then hold up on the d-pad while it is booting. (sorry, know what you were saying but it was a little confusing) this gets you into bootloader mode. From here you will have to use rsdlite again and reflash.

(just my opinion----- stay away from clockwork recovery)

with sprecovery you could still get to your recovery from the point you are at. With clockwork you actually have to fully boot

After holding down that key sequence:
Boot Loader
2C.6C
Battery OK
PK to Program
Transfer Mode:
USB


No matter if the phone is plugged into the wall or my laptop i get nothing at this screen
 

kenbarnum

Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2009
Messages
249
Reaction score
0
This is my reply to someone else that had our problem from 6/10 on another thread:
This happened to me today. I believe Rom Manager caused it when we flashed the latest version of clockwork...It was a bad version or something...
anyway, here is what I did:

Since it was in a boot loop it took a lot of trial and error to get the bootloader screen (I had to have the phone hooked up to my PC and push my battery (low battery from all the boot loops) in as I was pushing power and up on the d pad)...took several tries.
Guide to Rooting Android 2.1 on a Motorola Droid | Droid Life: A Motorola Droid Blog

I then flashed sprecovery back on. Downloaded the 2.1 rooted update zip, transfered to the sd card, installed.
That booted but a bunch of system files were still corrupt or missing so I had no 3g, wireless, or cell service.
Tried redoing the baseband update but was no help.
Downloaded Petes new froyo to PC, transferred to droid and reinstalled using sprecovery.

That actually loaded with what seemed to be a few small issues. I downloaded rom manager. Flashed a clockwork recovery (just in case).
Then I installed one of my backups BBv1.1 from rom manager.

Seems to work perfectly again and I think I will wait a while before trying froyo or petes froyo...This problem set me back 3 hours!


Then SRGENT ROOT said:
i fixed it by puting my sd card in my pc and puting in the stock

Maybe the two of these will help...sorry..it is a pain in the ass
 

BrownYacht

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2010
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
I think it was my battery, I just tried installing update.zip (bb v.4) and it actually installed it. At the welcome to droid screen, and had to input my google account, is this normal or did i lose root.
 
Top